Discuss Sceptre S6 and S8 here
9 posts
Page 1 of 1
I’ve been using my trusted Yamaha hs80’s since 2012 then all of sudden one the monitors decided to go bad. So I decided it’s time for new monitors. I looked at several different ones, then a buddy told me to get the sceptres. I was like “what are scepters and who makes them?”. He told me that Presonus makes the sceptre. I said “bro I’m not about to get any crap monitors from Presonus”. But he kept insisting that I try them out. He’s never steered me wrong in the past but this time I was quite sure he was wrong about this one. So I went against my better judgement purchased a set of the scepter 8’s and for good measure I picked up the T10 sub as well. So today 2-8-19, I got them all hooked up and loaded a mix and I listened. Then I said to myself “I FU@&!NK KNEW IT” these monitors sound like COMPLETE TRASH!! Now I’m sitting here pissed because I should’ve listened to my gut instinct. I’m pissed at my buddy for recommending this garbage. I’m listening to the mix that’s full of artifacts and starring at these monitors. I Said out loud “WHO EVEN DESIGNS A MONITOR WITH A FREAKIN HORN TWEETER BLOCKING THE WOOFER ANYWAYS!!” Now I have to pack everything back in the boxes and take them back. I’m really boiling at this point that I slapped my Mac keyboard which incidentally engages the solo button in my mix. So now the only thing I’m hearing is the hi hat track. As I’m listening to the hi hats I start to hear something different. I’m confused at this point so I solo each channel one at time. Then the light goes off...”That’s not artifacts, those are details I’d never before” OMG 😮!! Even at low levels I’m hearing everything clearly as never before. It’s like the windows of the studio in heaven finally opened. It all made sense now. These monitors are flat and very accurate. It’s like a dream listening to the Sceptre 8’s. The Yamahas had been masking all the subtle details of my mixes for years. I’m still in disbelief as I wr