StudioLive 2442, 1642 and 1602 with Universal Control Ai, SL Remote & QMix
5 posts
Page 1 of 1
I'm looking to see it it is at all possible to connect the EarMix 16M to the 16.0.2 USB and what hardware I would need to be able to make this happen. I know I can use an iPad to do the monitor mix but I like the idea of a dedicated panel like the EarMix.

I'm new to AVB so I'd need some specifics if you have any.

Thanks!
by wahlerstudios on Sat Nov 14, 2020 6:35 pm
Unfortunately this will not work, because the 16.0.2 USB is not an AVB device. The EarMixers are part of the Series III ecosystem, the 16.0.2 USB is a self-standing small and nice "classic" mixer. Fortunately it has USB now, the original 16.0.2 had FireWire as digital connectivity. The EarMix gets its signals via network (AVB), it has no access to USB signals. I don't know if it makes sense to use the analog stereo input (Aux Input) - if you want to use an EarMix, you should get one of the Series III mixers. The 16R is not too expensive and you can connect a 16M directly (CAT5e/CAT6 cable). It doesn't need an AVB switch.
by perrylawrence on Sat Nov 14, 2020 8:36 pm
Thanks for your help! Am I correct to assume that even though I connect the mixer to a computer and run StudioOne I can not get an AVB output (with discrete channels)?

My situation is as follows (perhaps you can guide me).
I have minimal input needs but prefer a console. In a live situation I am not comfortable running a software touch screen (old school here and my fears may be unfounded).
I need to send a mix to my host and want to give him a hardware console as well so he can adjust his mix as needed. Not sure if I can do this with a Classic USB.

I've been looking at the 16R but I would need an extra computer with touch screen to run it (another $1K for iPad Pro). Then I could use the EarMix. But trying to save the $1k for elsewhere.