Studiolive 32Ai, 24Ai and 16Ai Consoles with Universal Control Ai, SL Remote Ai, and QMix Ai
16 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hello fellow Presonians

Please excuse my rudimentary knowledge, but I am new to the world of digital recording.

The way I make music is live jamming with a good dozen of analog synthesizers, all either sporting an internal sequencer or an external hardware one. They are all brought together by a Studiolive 24.4.2 Ai desk. As I am spending most of my working life with a computer, so I was trying to avoid a DAW up to now, but I had to realise, that the way I am recording my sessions straight as a stereo sum into my ipad doesn't cut it, so I am looking into multi channel recording.

The mixing desk is my main tool of performance, so I would need a way to record post-fader, which, as I understand is not possible with the SL desks. Having all 24 channels recorded pre-fader information is not working for me, as I am not able to recall my fader performance.

So what are my options?

- set all faders to 0db and try to get the hottest part of my performance even with the gain control, then set all the volumes on the individual volume knobs of the synths

- get an hardware controller (fader port?) for studio one or presonus capture

- use my old beaten but fully working 16.4.2 as an interface and use the direkt outs of the 24.4.2 to record (but are the prefader?)

- use ableton live for recording and use my Push 2 as a controller (which sucks for more than 8 channels)

I am using a handful of external effects, so my auxes would have to be recorded too...

I am perusing the web for days now, but haven't found a solution yet.
maybe I need a different desk? I like the SL one.

All help and suggestions appreciated

Stefan
by roblof on Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:10 pm
Why do you want to record post-fader to your daw as for a multitrack if you want to record your performance and not real post production?