Page 1 of 1

Crackles with Studio 6/8

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:46 am
by mark scheuringer
I recently bought a PreSonus Studio 6/8; before I used a Roland QuadCapture. I am using this audio-interface with Studio One 4 Pro. The problem is, that the new interface gives me a hell lot more crackles and noise, than the old one did. I already tried out all block sizes, and of course it gets worse with 16 (totally unusable). But even setting the block size to 2048 does not remove the crackles. The CPU-usage is always between zero and 50 %. It is also independent from the song; even just playing one instrument without anything else (eg. Presence) produces the crackles. I had no issues with the old audio-interface with the same songs. My system is Windows 10 64bit and an Intel I7 CPU. All drivers are up to date (Windows, Firmware and Software-Drivers).

Maybe someone has any idea what I can change to get rid of these crackles. It is so annoying that it is not possible to have fun working in this way. I also already contacted the support, but as I need a solution within the next 5 days, I am also posting this topic into this forum.

Thanks for any help.

Mark

Re: Crackles with Studio 6/8

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:40 am
by Trucky
How much RAM is installed?

What versions of Studio One 4 and Universal Control are installed?

What are your "Processing" settings (Options>Audio Setup>Processing) set to?

Re: Crackles with Studio 6/8

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:35 am
by mark scheuringer
Thanks for the reply.

- Ram is 20 GB
- It is the latest version of Studio 4.1
- Processing is set to 512 blocks, 32 bit (but even maxing it out to 2048 does not get rid of the crackles)