Page 1 of 1

StudioLive 32 III and Room EQ Wizard??

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:42 pm
by psusername
Hi,

Just curious if anyone here has tried running Room EQ Wizard (http://www.roomeqwizard.com) with the new StudioLive32 mixers? It seems you need install the Java Runtime Environment when you install the REW software and wondered if that caused any problems with the SL32III drivers or UC Surface SW.

Here is a video on what I would like to do using that SW:

phpBB [video]


P

Re: StudioLive 32 III and Room EQ Wizard??

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:18 am
by babadono
What is your specific concern? I don't think REW will automatically set EQ settings into your mixer. Is that what you are trying to do? Are you using an outboard DSP to set filters for your room/speakers? Are you bi or tri amping? Your question raises many other questions.

Re: StudioLive 32 III and Room EQ Wizard??

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:52 am
by psusername
Hi,

Thanks for the response. No, I realize that REW measurements will not download to the SL32 (you need to use the mini DSP). I was just concerned with the JRE install creating problems on the PC with the SL or Studio One - probably not any problems, but just thought I would ask.

It also looks like the calibration method with REW looks much easier, cheaper, and repeatable when setting up speakers in a given room (than with ARC or Sonarworks). Obviously, the first best step before any software is to properly treat the room. Another big plus with the REW process is that it is "independent" of the PC/mixer - so you don't have to worry about switching off a plugin on the mix bus before final mixing.

Funny, I never did get around to trying this since I already had ARC 2. I recently picked Adam A7Xs plus a Sub8 and the ARC system worked well to fine tune. However, I may still try REW when I move the studio. The Adams are great by the way :-)

Take care,

p