Page 1 of 1

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:35 pm
by Trucky
Setup Examples for EarMix 16M

PreSonus EarMix 16M - How to Setup, Quick and Easy!
phpBB [video]

The attached PDF document contains all the configuration settings described in this video.

Advanced EarMix Routing for Whole-Band Scenarios
phpBB [video]

The attached PDF document contains all the configuration settings described in this 5 part video series.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 9:40 am
by wahlerstudios
FX A to FX D (H) controlled per channel via User Mode

A unique feature of the Series III mixers with Fat Channel scribble strips, encoders and buttons is the User Mode, which allows creating own custom Fat Channel controls. Up to now I never saw the need to use User Mode, but there is indeed one special option, which makes the User Mode to a really great feature: When you assign scribble strip/encoder/button 1-4 to the four FX sends (1-8 and FX A-H on the 64S), you can change effect sends per selected channel.

All you need to do is press the "USER" button and then press and hold any of the eight Fat Channel buttons. The touchscreen will show the list of functions you can assign to the buttons (right side) and encoders (left side). Under "Buttons" scroll down to FX A and confirm with "Done". That's it. ;-)

What this does is really simple and effective: Imagine selecting channel "Snare" on your mixer. Pressing the USER buttons adds the four/eight effect sends to the Fat Channel encoders, so you can increase or decrease any effect for snare without the need to select the effect fader banks. You can even move several encoders simultaneously. This feature will support your workflow and make your mixing faster and more effective.

There is a second way to get to FX Sends on encoders: Press the button Aux Sends and the "Next" button two times (four times on the 64S). The 4/8 Aux Sends will show up in the scribble strips. The 16/32 Flex Mixes are displayed first.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 3:24 am
by wahlerstudios
Using Ctrl Click Resets (UC & Studio One)

As you may know, UC Surface and Studio One share the same developers in Hamburg/Germany and "Ctrl Click" (press and hold Ctrl on keyboard, select encoder or button, left click mouse) belongs to the basic features of Studio One. This is the standard way to reset settings, or better: nulling parameters. No wonder that this feature is also heavily used in UC Surface.

The need to reset settings has to do with Fat Channel settings mostly. You come to a point where you want to reset e.g. the equalizer or parts of it. Try the Ctrl Click method. You will get the complete equalizer reset in less than 5 seconds... But this method does not consider settings you have saved. It will always set things back to factory settings, which can not be altered.

You can reset via Ctrl Click:

* All encoders of the Fat Channel of inputs and outputs, including Pre/Gain, HPF, Delay
* All faders in sends and returns
* All frequency faders of the GEQs
* All FX settings

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 11:21 am
by wahlerstudios
Naming Network Devices in UC

All members of the ecosystem (consoles, rack mixers, stageboxes, personal mixers) can have their own "nickname". UC Surface makes the naming very easy. Go to -> Settings -> Network. You will see the mixer or stagebox listed under "AVB Inputs". Double click on the name and change it. If you want to change the console's name, double click on the name in the rider and change the name. The units will remember their new name.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Wed May 20, 2020 11:49 am
by Trucky
Recording SIII FX A-D to Studio One

Here's a setup document that walks through how to record SIII FX A-D effects to Studio One.: This solution includes FX A-D but you can adapt this to include more (64S) or less based on your situation.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Wed May 20, 2020 8:49 pm
by Trucky
Using a Subgroup for Drums

Series III Subgroups (Drum Bus Setup).pdf
(94.47 KiB) Downloaded 78 times

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 6:32 pm
by wahlerstudios
Press & hold input source and select multiple channels

Many people complain that it's such a work to change "all" inputs on a StudioLive console from Analog to USB/AVB/SD. There is a way to change 32 input sources in less than 5 seconds. PreSonus has invented a press & hold function for several buttons. If you want to change 32 analog inputs to USB (example), press and hold the USB button in the Fat Channel section. The Select buttons of all channels will start blinking in red (color for USB). Wipe across the Select Buttons, use the "Next Page" button to get access to the next channels, release the USB button. That's it. Now all 32 channels are changed to USB as input source. You can also change some channels to USB, some to AVB, some to SD. Just press and hold the source button and select the input channels for that source. Then continue with the next source button and select the channels.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Tue May 26, 2020 4:59 pm
by wahlerstudios
SD Card control via UC Surface

If you have ever tried to create a new SD Card multitrack recording session on the touchscreen of your mixer, you might have had the wish for a better solution. Which is already available, when you have a tablet or a computer at hand. SD Card Capture shows up in UC Surface and allows you to fill out the Artist/Performance/Location fields and recall stored sessions. And you can arm tracks and start and stop and save the recording. The Virtual Soundcheck function is also available.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Sat May 30, 2020 7:16 am
by wahlerstudios
FX Returns in User Layer or DCA Groups

Due to their physical design, SL 32SC or SL 16 do not have the 8 separate group of channels, which can be used for multiple purposes. Therefore access to the four FX Returns A-D is cumbersome. But there are two layers of faders, which easily can be used for FX Returns: The User Layer, or the DCA Groups.

I find the User Layer especially useful for "functional mixing subjects" like FX Returns or controlling external audio (Aux In, Tape In). The process is very easy: Select "User" (layer) on the console, press & hold "Select" of the first channel. The touchscreen now shows the available sources. Find and select "FX Ret A". Then press "Select" on the second channel and select "FX Ret B". When you have selected all input sources for your User Layer, press "Done".

Using DCA Groups for FX Returns and other functional sources is also possible. The DCA button below the touchscreen opens the screen which allows to select and name groups and add FX Returns to them. DCA Group 1 will control FX Return A, DCA Group 2 will control FX Return B, and so on.

Now access to the four FX Returns during mixing is really easy. It does not really matter if you press the button "DCA Groups" or "User", because they are located next to each other. Whatever is free and available, use it...

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:55 am
by wahlerstudios
Opening SD Card Recording in Studio One

The manual says that you can open SD Card recordings in Studio One, which is true, but will not work as you would expect. Opening a SD Card project in Studio One means that Studio One will load the raw and unnamed tracks, which most probably is not what you want to see...

There is a way to transfer more of the SD Card recording session to Studio One, but this needs some additional work. When you have finished your SD Card recording and stored the mix scene (never forget to do this!), copy all the files on your computer. You will need the files in the Audio folder and the three Capture files (project, configuration and scene). Now starts the "conversion" of the recording project (mixer and PC/laptop must be connected via USB):

1) Change the scene suffix from .scn to .scene
2) Reset mixer (project/scene, patching)
3) Load the project in Capture/Computer, load Mix Scene (changes the mixer's settings)
4) Sync track names and colors from (!) the mixer
5) Save Mix scene
6) Quit Capture

Now Studio One is able to read this "updated" Capture project and it will open with the tracks named and colored, the Fat Channel settings and the four effect sends.

I can't check this procedure on a Mac, so things might be different there. This is a description for PC/Windows.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:59 pm
by wahlerstudios
Coloring Mixer Channels via Capture

The color spectrum of UC Surface is very limited and some of the colors are very dominant. There are some "mild" and tasty colors missing. But there is help. If you are looking for more color options, Capture (computer) has them all!

The Capture Manual says in section 4.1.4 Track Controls: "Track Color. To the left of the track number, you will find the track color pallet. Click to change the track color in Capture. This will colorize the corresponding channel in UC Surface as well. For StudioLive Series III console users, this will also change."

I can't describe this better, so I only add a screenshot showing that you can colorize several tracks/channels at once and that "Sync" must be active, if you want to transfer the colors to the mxier and UC Surface. You can also watch UC Surface when you select colors in Capture to find the best fitting colors "on the fly". Enjoy the beautiful colors in UC Surface and on the buttons of your console! ;-)

Unfortunately, the joy might not last long. The colors show up when Capture is connected. They are part of Capture's "mix scene", which you can load to the mixer. They won't (or not always) show up, when there is only UC Surface involved, even though the color settings were stored in a project/scene. Hopefully the enhanced color palette of Capture 3 is an indication that PreSonus will add it to UC Surface as well.
Image

This is how UC Surface could look like with the colors of Capture. The four colors on the right are UC Surface colors.
Image

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 6:35 am
by wahlerstudios
High Pass Filter for Talkback

The options for Talkback in UC Surface are Source (Analag, Network), Preamp Gain, Color and Routing (AVB, USB), but there are two more options available on the consoles with Fat Channel scribble strips and encoders: Pan and HiPass Filter. I would not know what to use the pan function for, but the High Pass Filter is a real helpful feature, because it allows to take the rumble out of the talkback microphone or whatever the talkback input is used for. The HPF has a range from 0 Hz to 1 kHz, its encoder is located right below the window. Use "Tap" and encoder to reset HPF.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:20 am
by wahlerstudios
Level indication on touchscreen and in UC Surface

Sometimes it is needed to see an exact figure of a channel level and indeed, all PreSonus mixers do have this feature. Just touch the fader, and you will see it. You don't need to select a channel. Touch and display are independent from selection. This works for the physical faders (value in the upper right corner of the touchscreen) and for the virtual faders (value in the "microview display" above to the Solo button in UC Surface).

The value indication is also available for panning. Just "touch" the panning control, the value like L 20 or R 35 will be shown in the microview display and on the touchscreen.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:06 am
by wahlerstudios
Using a talkback mic with the Series III rack mixers.

TalkbackRouting_800.jpg
The UC Surface Reference Manual has a short description in section 8.1.2 "Talkback Source", which unfortunately will not enable anybody to use the Talkback functions. Something important is missing. :) By default, Talkback on rack mixers is routed to channel 1 as analog input. If you want to use another input like the XLR ports on the backside of a 32R, you need to change the input in Digital Patching. The screenshot shows where you can find this setting. Simply move TB from Mic/Line 1 to Mic/Line 30 or any suitable channel. Channels 31+32 are also patched to the RCA inputs.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:11 am
by wahlerstudios
How to play a recorded stereo mix back from Capture to the mixer?

Capture is able to record a mix on linked tracks 33+34 while playing tracks 1-32 to the mixer. This is perfect for making a roughmix of a concert or studio recording. But how do you play this stereo mix back to the mixer?

Unfortunately the UC Surface manual does not really describe the how-to and you don't see the signal coming into the mixer anywhere. You would expect tracks 33+34 to arrive at USB 33+34 (default routing for Aux In 1), but there is definitely no signal arriving at Aux In 1, Aux In 2, Tape In/DigRet nor Main L/R. The reason for this is that Main L/R sends its signal via USB 39+40 to tracks 33+34 and identically uses USB 39+40 returns to send the mix of tracks 33+34 back to the mixer. So the only thing you need to do is set input source of Aux In 1 to USB and select USB 39 (Left) and 40 (Right) as input stream.

The screenshot shows the settings. You can also use Aux In 2 or Tape In/DigRet for this task. Main L/R does not have any USB input source (returns), just USB sends.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 2:03 pm
by wahlerstudios
How do I reset the assignment of a User Layer channel?

The way you UNSELECT a source for your channel is exactly the way you SELECT it. If channel 1 is assigned, selected and highlighted, just "touch" the highlighted blue button on the touchscreen again. This will suspend the assignment of channel 1. Then confirm the change by pressing "Done".

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 12:55 pm
by wahlerstudios
How to route audio from Studio One through a Series III mixer and back

This is not a typical question for live sound, but sometimes it's good to remember that the mixer is not "only" a mixer. It also works as DAW controller and it works as audio interface for inputs and outputs. "This is a quick walk-through on how to setup your PreSonus StudioLive 16 Series III to route audio from Studio One Pro PipelineXT VST to PreSonus Studio Channel Tube Mic-Pre and back." Vatche Demirjian has recorded this very informative video.

phpBB [video]

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:35 am
by wahlerstudios
Rack Mixer - The Automatic Stagebox Connection

A Series III rack mixer is a perfect stagebox, because you don't need to do anything to make it work. The rack mixers will connect automatically in "Stagebox Mode". All you need to do is to reset project and scene and perform Master Reset of patching for the console and the rack mixer separately. The next time console and rack mixer boot up fully, they will automatically connect as mixer and stagebox.

The first screenshot shows what you should see under Network Settings in UC Surface (important is the green LED for the rack mixer!), the second screenshots shows the settings for "AVB Inputs". By default only Inputs 1-40 are connected to AVB streams. It makes sense to complete the routing. All network settings are stored in the projects and therefore recallable.

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:31 am
by wahlerstudios
The two functions of the Talk button

The Talk button works in two modes. A short press switches the microphone on and off, a long press keeps the microphone on until you release the button again. The modes are not selectable as a basic setting. The mixer just "listens" to the long or short touch of your finger...

StudioLive Series III Tips & Tricks

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:20 pm
by wahlerstudios
How to bring a fader exactly to unity gain.

UC Surface on a computer makes this possible and it's really simple. This is what holding ALT or CTRL and a click on a fader does:

-> ALT + Click Fader = Fader at Unity
-> CTRL + Click Fader = Fader at Infinity

By the way, this works for EVERYTHING which is using a fader: inputs, outputs, sends, returns. Very helpful for studio work, but also a nice feature for live work. Sometimes it's good to KNOW that the faders are set absolutely exact... ;-)