FaderPort 8 and FaderPort 16 General Discussion
9 posts
Page 1 of 1
Just bought a Faderport 16 to replace my Mackie Control and 2 XTs which I've been using for 16 years. Love most things about it, but really really hate one big thing. Namely the scribble strips. Who's idea was it to have them backlit? It's like going back to the gear of the 90s. Truly awful design decision Presonus. Gives them virtually no contrast. Very difficult to read unless leaning over the controller. Why don't they just have white text on black background like in the marketing images? Anyway, that's a rant for another day.

My question, is the Faderport able to work as a controller for Presonus rack mixers? This would make me buy one, no question. If not, why not? Haven't read anything about this. I see the Behringer X-Touch can control their rack mixers.

Presonus Sphere
Studio One 5 Pro

Windows 10 Pro 64, Intel Quad Core i7 6700k, 16GB Ram
Apollo Firewire, Focusrite OctoPre
UAD octo dsp (Apollo quad and PCIe quad)
Faderport 16 and 8.
Softube Console 1
Behringer BCR2000 (for plugin control)
by TheTwangmeister on Sat May 30, 2020 8:40 pm
Anybody?

Presonus Sphere
Studio One 5 Pro

Faderport 16 and 8.
Softube Console 1
by 60s Pop Man on Sat May 30, 2020 10:09 pm
The description on the Presonus website highlights DAW control.
There's no mention of using the FP to control other devices.

M1 Mini (16GB RAM, 1TB SSD) / macOS 13.6 / S1 6.5 Pro / Melodyne 5 Editor / Notion 6.8.4 / Faderport 8, Eris 5
by TheTwangmeister on Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:38 am
That's a shame. Maybe they should think about this. This would give me a real reason to buy A Presonus rack mixer as it would double up as an input box in the live room in the studio and come out on the road as a stage box too. This would make it a great value proposition. I love the implementation Behringer have done with theirs.

Presonus Sphere
Studio One 5 Pro

Faderport 16 and 8.
Softube Console 1
by 60s Pop Man on Mon Jun 01, 2020 8:31 am