Page 1 of 1

Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:04 pm
by chrisharwood
? Question on Mackie Control mode on Faderport (8).
Vegas Pro supports the faderport as an external controller and says to put the faderport in "Mackie control Mode".
That said...when choosing the modes (other than studio one) you are only give the option of Logic, Cubase, or Sonar. Needless to say, neither of them work to be detected in Sony Vegas.. HUI I understand is for ProTools.
Is there just a "plain" Mackie Control mode...or am I missing something...or it just doesn't work? In my device list in Vegas, it DOES list the faderport as an option. Just can't get it to be recognized.
Anyone else have any success with a video program? There's a YouTube video showing with Adobe Premier...but it's old enough, it doesn't show the CURRENT list on the Faderport when you fire it up (holding the two buttons, etc).
Help ??

Re: Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:41 am
by tomsylvester
If you can figure it out, I'm in the same situation. I got Vegas Pro to work the audio tracks with my old M-Audio ProjectMix I/O Firewire. But I'm dead in the water with the Faderport 8. It'd be great if a Generic map could be constructed and opened....good luck.

Re: Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:52 am
by Bbd
chrisharwood wrote? Question on Mackie Control mode on Faderport (8).
Vegas Pro supports the faderport as an external controller and says to put the faderport in "Mackie control Mode".
That said...when choosing the modes (other than studio one) you are only give the option of Logic, Cubase, or Sonar. Needless to say, neither of them work to be detected in Sony Vegas.. HUI I understand is for ProTools.
Is there just a "plain" Mackie Control mode...or am I missing something...or it just doesn't work? In my device list in Vegas, it DOES list the faderport as an option. Just can't get it to be recognized.
Anyone else have any success with a video program? There's a YouTube video showing with Adobe Premier...but it's old enough, it doesn't show the CURRENT list on the Faderport when you fire it up (holding the two buttons, etc).
Help ??


Did you try opening a Support ticket for this issue? They could let you know what is possible.

Re: Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 3:34 pm
by peterbenson1
Bbd wrote
chrisharwood wrote? Question on Mackie Control mode on Faderport (8).
Vegas Pro supports the faderport as an external controller and says to put the faderport in "Mackie control Mode".
That said...when choosing the modes (other than studio one) you are only give the option of Logic, Cubase, or Sonar. Needless to say, neither of them work to be detected in Sony Vegas.. HUI I understand is for ProTools.
Is there just a "plain" Mackie Control mode...or am I missing something...or it just doesn't work? In my device list in Vegas, it DOES list the faderport as an option. Just can't get it to be recognized.
Anyone else have any success with a video program? There's a YouTube video showing with Adobe Premier...but it's old enough, it doesn't show the CURRENT list on the Faderport when you fire it up (holding the two buttons, etc).
Help ??


Did you try opening a Support ticket for this issue? They could let you know what is possible.
Chris, and others here, please keep us posted on your progress with Faderport controllers' use with Magix Vegas Pro and also Blackmagic Design's DaVinci Resolve editors!
-Peter

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Re: Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:20 am
by klypeman
I just downloaded an update of the firmware and love and behold there was an MCU mode when changing mode. My Vegas stops in the middle because it don't like Halion Sonic for some reason so have not been able to test it but if MCU was a must maybe you guys have a solution now.
Hope you do !

Re: Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:21 pm
by chrisharwood
yes...there is a MCU mode....you push that button...then you have to choose between, Logic, Cubase, Sonar or Ableton.... neither of these work

Re: Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:33 am
by peterbenson1
chrisharwood wroteyes...there is a MCU mode....you push that button...then you have to choose between, Logic, Cubase, Sonar or Ableton.... neither of these work
Like DaVinci Resolve -- there's no "MIDI LEARN" functionality within Vegas Pro, huh!?
-Pete

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Re: Faderport 8 with Vegas Pro

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:49 am
by klypeman
Yeah, I saw that now, hoped that it had a general MCU mode, alas this time not.