Discuss the new PreSonus CS18Ai
38 postsPage 1 of 2
1, 2
I hope I have someones attention.

I'm an electrical engineer and studio engineer etc I have setup my CS18AI to work just with my Studio One 3 software on a new PC. I applied the 7055 firmware update (don't follow the procedure in the manual, it doesn't work) sucessfully to the CSD18AI.

I have tried both methods of connecting to S13, wireless WiFi and direct Ethernet.

Wireless works with unacceptable latency between CS18AI faders and corresponding faders in S13. Of course the manual is a joke here too, I spent a lot of time figuring out that I had to set my wifi router to 2.4 GHZ and not mixed or legacy in order to get the CS18AI to recognize the network connection. I spent even more time wondering why the wifi dongle wasn't working at all when plugged in directly to the USB port. After more searching, I found that using a USB extension cable does make the dongle work and I happened to have one. I was able to connect to the 2.4 GHZ network and then select S13 in the software dropdown list. However as I said, the tracking of the faders is just horrible and makes this method unusable to control S13. I can't use the CS18AI at all... sometimes it tracks and then the CS18AI just loses all control completely.

Ethernet direct cable connection will allow me to select S13 from the CS18AI software menu. It responds to Studio One 3 in that if I deselect "Allow remote applications to control S13" under Options/Network, the CS18AI loses S13 and recognizes it again when it is re-selected. However, this is the only thing that the CS18AI does when connected directly through the Ethernet port. The CS18AI does not control anything, does not "set" the faders when S13 is selected in the network software menu, and the scribble strips don't show the S13 track names. The CS18AI does nothing at all to control S13. Again, it's completely useless. It doesn't work at all.