A place to share your Notion files
9 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hello everyone from Spain.
Please, excuse my poor English.
My name is Manolo Rosa, I´m a spanish musician who has been using Notion since version 4.
This is my first approach to VST instruments and rules.

I recently bought the Xsample Player Edition Part 6.
I doubted between the version for Kontakt and the Player; I know that Kontakt version is more versatile and complet, but I do not have Kontakt and I have no experience with it.

My experience with Player Edition is good. They are quality samples and with the rules file included (I had to tweak them a bit at my convennience), it´s possible to use with Notion easily.

I need to go deeper with the rules, it´s an amazing tool.

It´s a micropiece I´ve written for a collaboration with a painter artist friend of mine.
Made with Notion 6, Xsample PE Part 6 and not post editing (except Notion´s reverb).
It´s called "Una carta" ("A letter").
I think it´s an acceptable result.
phpBB [audio]

Comments and suggestions are welcome.

I thank this community for all that I learned in the forums.
Thank you very much.
Best regards.
Manolo Rosa
by michaelmyers1 on Sat May 06, 2017 11:19 am
Manolo, this sounds very good! I personally think it could use a touch more reverb; The instruments are very very dry, but that's a matter of taste.

The library sounds great. Would be nice to hear more techniques (pizzicato, tremolo, con sordino, etc.). Also, are any parameters addressable, such as vibrato?

It seems fairly pricy, about comparable to Spitfire Sacconi Quartet. A bit different intent.

Thanks for sharing!

iMac (Retina 5K 27", 2019) 3.6 ghz I9 8-core 64 gb RAM Fusion Drive
with small AOC monitor for additional display
macOS Sonoma 14.4
2 - 500 gb + 2 - 1 tb external SSD for sample libraries
M Audio AirHub audio interface
Nektar Panorama P1 control surface
Nektar Impact 49-key MIDI keyboard
Focal CMS40 near-field monitors
JBL LSR310S subwoofer