StudioLive RM32Ai and RM16Ai Mixers & UC Surface with QMix Ai
4 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hey guys! I’m a bit new to the world of AVB and all...it’s been really fun setting up my cs18ai with Rml32ai in my home studio. But here is what I’m trying to figure out- I’ve got a laptop at the drum set connected to Rml32ai over FireWire and the computer’s audio output goes to 2 stereo channels on the Rml32ai. That’s great, but I also want a computer at the keyboard, and another for me at my guitar station, all able to output audio in the form of backing tracks or whatever....is there a way for me to send this data and receive it over the AVB network, maybe with a software solution rather than putting an audio interface on each computer? I feel like there’s a way to set that up but I can’t find procedures in our product documentation for this kind of thing. Thanks for any and all help!! Ps I have a SW5E right now....got it because I was having a hell of a time getting the i/os to work on my cs18ai. But then I resolved that....not sure if I need this switch anymore but maybe it helps with this? Sorry for the novel🤦🏻‍♂️
by wahlerstudios on Thu May 21, 2020 10:31 am
Hi, and welcome to the Forum! Basically you have ONE mixer, which allows ONE audio connection (FireWire). There is no chance to ADD more computers. USB also would not allow this, so this is not a "problem" of the AI mixers and/or AVB 1 (first generation). AVB 2 is more open for networked devices including computers, but this does not help you. The RM mixers have the option to use a Dante card and connect to computers. The CS18AI is "Dante ready" and will work as controller only, all audio functions will not be available anymore.