StudioLive RM32Ai and RM16Ai Mixers & UC Surface with QMix Ai
17 posts
Page 1 of 1
I'm building a rig for our five-piece band and am pretty much settled on the RM16AI, partly because of the iOS app for the band to run their own monitor mixes. I'm looking at a wireless system for in-ear monitors too and need one transmitter per monitor mix as far as I can tell - I'm quite new to this so there's a bit of a learning curve here! Have I got that right? And, if so, would the Presonus software still work for the musicians to mix their monitor over iOS? If so, I'd be looking at five wireless transmitters, which would be way over budget for me.

Has anyone got a good solution for this?

Windows 10 Professional x64 | Intel Core i7-6700K | 32GB DDR4 G.Skill RipjawsV 2666Mhz
Studio One Pro 4.6.1 | StudioLive 16 Series III v1.9.14636
by matthewgorman on Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:43 am
The IOS apps work as control for the AUX mixes. The Aux mixes are what you will use for monitor mixes, so regardless of the monitoring solution, it won't affect the IOS apps. Even in an environment with multiple transmitters, or single transmitters, the IEM will take its signal from the Aux out.

As far as what you need, I can't really recommend any hardware, as I don't use IEM's, but plenty here do. I will say that for a 5 piece band, you will have some decisions to make. If you want stereo in ears, you only have the auxes for 4 separate monitor mixes. Someone will be sharing a mix. Or you would have 5 mono mixes if everyone needs their own. Just something to keep in mind when sourcing out your IEM hardware.

Good luck.

Matt

Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Win 10 64bit, 8GB RAM, Intel Xeon
Lenovo Thinkpad E520, Windows 7 64bit, 8 GB RAM, Intel i5 Processor

S1Pro V5
by bubbaguth on Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:57 am