Page 1 of 1

SOLVED - Does AudioBox iTwo interface need a wall plug-in power adaptor?

Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 11:41 pm
by deanpham
Hi,

I have an AudioBox iTwo, the only power source is from computer USB cable connection. Would it or my computer blow up if I plug in an electric guitar? The the guitar has its own amp but the the computer...? Thanks!

SOLVED - Re: Does AudioBox iTwo interface need a wall plug-in power adaptor?

Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 9:37 am
by Trucky
The AudioBox iTwo is bus powered (doesn't require DC power) by design.
https://pae-web.presonusmusic.com/downloads/products/pdf/iOne-iTwo_OwnersManual_EN_240320151.pdf

SOLVED - Re: Does AudioBox iTwo interface need a wall plug-in power adaptor?

Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 11:49 pm
by deanpham
Would it blow up my computer in smoke because it's not a guitar amp?

SOLVED - Re: Does AudioBox iTwo interface need a wall plug-in power adaptor?

Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 9:22 am
by Trucky
Post a photo of how you have your guitar and speakers hooked up to the AudioBox iTwo.
Damaging your speakers (not your computer) is more of a concern if you play things too loud.

SOLVED - Re: Does AudioBox iTwo interface need a wall plug-in power adaptor?

Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 12:14 pm
by deanpham
This is how I connect them:

35 watts Studio monitors to Audio interface
Audio interface to computer-midi/usb cable
Guitar plug into audio interface.

To play safe, so far the volume knob is at #3.

SOLVED - Re: Does AudioBox iTwo interface need a wall plug-in power adaptor?

Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 12:23 pm
by Trucky
That should be fine

SOLVED - Re: Does AudioBox iTwo interface need a wall plug-in power adaptor?

Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 12:27 pm
by deanpham
Thanks!