7 posts
Page 1 of 1
I never, ever thought about it. Just always had it set to the default of 512 for the buffer size. Didn't know much about it and didn't care to think twice if it made a difference. This is how it's been for years and years.

I'd play in my virtual instruments, tighten em up with quantize. Tracked vocals with bunch of plug-ins on and just assumed huge echos behind the voice were normal for tracking.

Never thought I was doing anything wrong, until I tuned into the live stream this morning. I actually kinda ignored the latency part at first just because I was so excited about mixer undo. Tonight I came back and watched again and this time paid more attention. Really wanted to understand what all the fuss was about. I also watched some more videos and read some articles about latency.

I then downloaded 3.5. Changed my buffer to 32 and put the drop out protection on to medium. My latency dropped from 40ms to 7ms audio / 12ms instruments.

I started playing all my VSTis and OH MY GOD. The difference = night + day. I can't even explain how much more feeling and responsiveness playing has. Not just a little bit. Not just a lot. Night and f'ing day.

I was a little confused at first because this setting that I didn't really even pay attention to at all..I had absolutely no clue it could make such a difference.

So next trial I fired up my vocal chain. I sang the same thing against some music with my old settings (512 buffer) and then changed the settings and put on the Z latency/drop out protection with a 32 device buffer.

Once again I was completely shocked and how different it felt. It actually changed the way I sing...my timing is completely different with the low latency. I listened back to the two versions and sure enough my timing is so much tighter and in the pocket and not just by a little bit.... you can see huge changes on where the vocal wave form lines up.