Routers, Switches, Cabling, Access Points, Repeaters, etc all discussed here
5 posts
Page 1 of 1
Would anyone here know if this AVB switch be compatible with the new StudioLive III series mixers on Windows?

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/AVBSwitch

It is still expensive at $400 but seems to be about the least expensive AVB solution I have seen so far (plus, Motu has just released updated Windows drivers).

I am new to the AVB world and just doing some investigation :reading: .

Thanks in advance!

p

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
CPU = Intel Core i&-3770K CPU @ 3.5GHz
Ram = 32GB
Graphics = NVIDIA GeForce GT640
Displays = Acer T232HL & AOC 2429W
Studio One 5
StudioLive III 32
Focusrite Liquid 56
Focusrite ISA428
dBX 161s
Universal Audio 6176
Allen&Heath GL3000
by matthewseymour on Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:35 am
Yes, afaik the MOTU AVB switch remains the only "affordable" small AVB compatible switch available at the moment.

However, you mention windows... which doesn't currently have native support for AVB, so you'd just be passing control data and no audio, in which case you don't need AVB and any old switch will do.... if you even need a switch at all. You could try just plugging it in directly and seeing if it will let you do what you want.

If you're trying to record audio, then you either need to use a Mac, use a super expensive windows compatible AVB soundcard, or use USB for the audio.
by douglyons on Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:06 am
I'm confused Matthew, and very very new to AVB.

Do you mean that I can't talk to my new StudioLive series 3 mixer and use the extended channels beyond the USB number with my HP Windows 8.1 laptop running Studio 1 Artist?