Page 1 of 1

TFTP on Mac El Cap?

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:26 pm
by tourtelot
Long shot. Anyone here (Karyn?) have any ideas on how to get TFTP working on a Mac (El Cap) so that I can do boot updates on my Cisco SG300 switch? I have the TFTP server turned on but there is something that keeps the switch from finding it ("the server is unreachable") and sending or receiving files. Firewall is odd and SIP disabled so its not that. Read/write permissions on the whole folder chain.

I know it's something dumb but I don't want to go out and buy a cheap Windows lappy so I can do a few file transfers. This should be a no-brainer but I am stumped.

D.

Re: TFTP on Mac El Cap?

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:38 pm
by Karyn
Hiya :)

I spent 30+ years on PCs from DOS through various Windows versions. I switched to a McBook mainly because I wanted to learn how to use OSX for work.
I've had the McBook for a couple of years now and I STILL don't have a clue how to do basic stuff like run a program from a command prompt, or how to get a command prompt...

I have a real love/hate relationship with this thing...

TFTP... does it not just work? There's not a lot to it... Have you checked the usual suspects like port blocking? What TFTP server are you using? You're going to say it's built into OSX aren't you..... ok, I'll go have a look for it...

Re: TFTP on Mac El Cap?

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:43 pm
by tourtelot
Yes, I am using the built-in one. It should be really simple but nothing I do/change makes it work. I always get the error "the server is unreachable." Spent two days on this already and I'm getting weary.

D.

Re: TFTP on Mac El Cap?

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:52 pm
by Karyn
I found this..

https://rick.cogley.info/post/run-a-tftp-server-on-mac-osx/

Looks like exactly what you want to know.

Re: TFTP on Mac El Cap?

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:28 am
by tourtelot
Yeah, I saw that. Seems like they make it SO hard to do a simple chore. I don't mind messing with my Mac's registry; done it a few times. But to transfer a boot update to my Cisco switches from my Mac shouldn't take nearly this much work.

Trying to borrow, maybe buy, a simple Win machine to do this simple work. Ugg!

D.

Re: TFTP on Mac El Cap?

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:20 pm
by tourtelot
For what it's worth, I fixed this. I borrowed a friend's decades old WinXP machine and had my two switches updated in under one hour. Sometimes I hate being a Mac-fanboy :)

D.

Re: TFTP on Mac El Cap?

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:33 am
by Karyn
My gigging kit includes iPads, iPhone, McBook, McMini.. You plug it in, switch it on and it does just what says on the tin.

Can I work out how to copy a file from one folder to another rather than the default move?? Can I F...

I'm really torn between the two worlds. I can do almost anything Windows but it's so dependant on the hardware combinations you've chosen.


I'll need to update the firmware in my HP switch at some point, I'll let you know how I get on.