Page 1 of 1

Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:56 pm
by tourtelot
Seems like it, yes? Too bad.

Doug

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:54 pm
by matthewgorman
Not at all.

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:03 pm
by Skip Jones
Noperdoodle.

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:53 am
by tourtelot
88.2k for the Dante card in my SL2442AI? I'd take the loss of most of FAT stuff if that could happen.

D.

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:08 am
by matthewgorman
It may have something to do with the supported sample rates in Dante, as to why there are not more options.

http://dev.audinate.com/GA/dvs/userguid ... format.htm

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:35 am
by tourtelot
Yes, I see that thanks. But I also believe that the Dante card in the SL2442AI is only good to 48k. I would love to be wrong about that. It would make a lot of things possible.

D.

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:37 am
by matthewgorman
The SL AI Dante card is limited to 48, and maybe has something to do with the WDM limitation for the higher sample rate?

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:59 am
by tourtelot
I'm on a Mac. I think it has to do with processor resources but I was hoping for a firmware revision that will allow for hi res rates with the loss of some other board function. Think I'm barking up a tree with no raccoon in it :)

Doud

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:13 pm
by matthewgorman
The raccoon is there, its just busy trying to get its firewire connection working. :mrgreen:

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:54 pm
by tourtelot
Just received this from Audinate.

Hello Douglas,
I’m not sure where you found the information about DVS not supporting various sample rates. We support 44.1, 48, 88.2, 96, 176.4, and 192k sample rates. The software you use might not support some of those, but any professional audio program should.

Thank you,
Brett Silver Begani
Audinate Customer Support
https://www.audinate.com/support
1-503-224-2998 x229


So no problem with Dante per se, but how the manufactures of hardware and firmware implement it.

So that means that my front end can consist of Pro Tools and an Avid S3. No need for the Presonus SL2442AI any more.

D.

Re: Is Presonus Done With Dante?

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:49 am
by matthewgorman
Looks like they should update their website. Good luck to you.