Capture 1.x and Capture 2.x
6 posts
Page 1 of 1
I'm a very novice sound tech for my church. Can someone help me increase the volume of my recording in capture. We only record the channel the pastors mic is on. I know you can ehance the recording in Studio 1 but that is to advance for us right now(still learning ). The overall mix for the church sounds great. So I don't want to change anything that may effect that. I just want the capture recording to be louder. Whenever I capture a session and export it to the mac it sounds great it's just to low. We are only recording the sermons at this point. Im probably doing something wrong. Any advice will help thanks. Oh yeah we have a studiolive 24.4.2.
by wahlerstudios on Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:49 am
The volume of the recording is coupled to the gain of the input channel. It looks like you are using too little gain for speech. Try to increase gain (the knob on top of your input channel) until you are safely in the lower yellow part of the LED strip (press button input to see the meters). This should solve your problem.

If not, split the microphone (Y-Cable Splitter) and use the second signal solely for recording. This gives you the freedom to adjust the gain independent from the sound in the room.

Another trick would be to record a mix out (aux) and use its make-up gain, but you need some more experience to make this work.
by bobcrownfield on Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:19 pm
When I record using capture, here's how I do it.

Turn FOH and all monitors off.

Look at the pastors mic level, and adjust it somewhere between -10 and -20. Soft, -20 is ok, loud -10 is ok. this still leaves you room if he gets very loud. If you can go higher safely, do it.

Do this for every input channel. Either write them down, or mark them.
The recording levels are now reasonable.

Set the channel faders all to the 0db mark,
and then bring up the FOH speakers with the master fader, until the house sounds about right.