Page 1 of 1

Rules for grace notes

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 4:19 am
by gonzaloperezdelaossa
Is there a way to write a rule for a grace note? I'd like to be able to extend it a bit longer so it overlaps with the next one (that's what my VSTi wants), but can't find how to do that.

Re: Rules for grace notes

Posted: Sun Dec 29, 2019 4:18 am
by davidsantamauro
I haven't tested, but it could be as easy as:
Code: Select all
<rule remark="Grace Note?" enabled="true">
  <if technique="grac"/>
  <!-- do something -->
</rule>


Good luck

Re: Rules for grace notes

Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:31 am
by michaelmyers1
I don't "write" my rulesets using code, I use the ruleset editor. Unfortunately there's no way to select grace notes as either a note type, a technique or an articulation that I can see in the editor.

However, I think there may be a workaround. I typically increase the duration of slurred notes using a rule that recognizes notes under a slur. This makes it work with legato patches in my VI's. Since grace notes in my experience are always under slurs, this could work to do what you want.

Here's a rule in the editor for doing this:

Screen Shot 2019-12-30 at 12.23.40 AM.png


Hope this helps!

Re: Rules for grace notes

Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:54 am
by davidsantamauro
I'm stuck in limbo between importing my old rules and using the editor. There are many inconsistencies, missing 'grac', e.g., as well as others that appear as techniques (qkud=Quick Up and Down) but then get translated as 'Circle' because the editor doesn't recognize the imported value--probably worthy of a support case.

Re: Rules for grace notes

Posted: Tue Jan 21, 2020 12:50 am
by gonzaloperezdelaossa
Sorry it took me a while to get back to this.

davidsantamauro wroteI haven't tested, but it could be as easy as:
Code: Select all
<rule remark="Grace Note?" enabled="true">
  <if technique="grac"/>
  <!-- do something -->
</rule>



I tried this, but I don't think it's working. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Can someone confirm that "grac" works? I'm using Notion 6.5.470, 64-bit (Mac).

Also, like you said, it gets translated to "Circle symbol" in the editor.