Discuss Notion Music Composition Software here.
7 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hello. I'm a professional musician and retired computer science prof. but this has me stalled.

I need help getting started with Spitfire Libraries with Kontakt 6 and Notion 6 for Windows.

My scores are for a small (nine-piece) chamber orchestra doing classical, pop and jazz. I have been using the bundled Notion sounds with success. Now, based on many demos, I've purchased Spitfire Studio Strings, Studio Brass and Studio Woodwinds for sounds.

I have installed Kontakt, downloaded, installed and registered everything, and the three libraries all come up when I open Kontakt 6.

My problem is getting Notion to recognize the sounds. At most, I can get one sound - one instrument.

Here are some of my questions:

I also have Presonus Studio One 5 as my DAW. Must I take my Notion score into Studio One? Or can I get everything working without doing that, by staying in Notion?

When I try clicking on VST in Notion, it opens up another instance of Kontakt, but I never seem to be able to connect the one with the library to Notion; all I get is another empty Kontakt window.

Must I open a separate instance of Kontakt for each instrument? I read about a 'multi' but am not sure how that applies. And I know about the existence of a Spitfire BBCSO Ruleset file (compliments of composer Michael Myers) but I don't know how to install or use it.

Will it ever be the case that I can have a template with an easy choice of available Spitfire instruments, like I have now with the bundled Notion sounds?

I have not been able to find instructions or a video that would help me get this working. Any assistance is appreciated. Thank you.

Windows 11 Home, Notion 6, Studio One 6. Intel i9, 32 GB RAM
by Surf.Whammy on Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:28 pm
I do everything on the Mac, but I can help with some of your questions . . . :)