Discuss Notion Music Composition Software here.
3 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hi everybody. I just had a try with solo violin in EQWL gold (loading it using EWQL Notion full preset).
None of the different techniques shown in EWQL Tech. palette (like marcato, spiccato, lyrique...) work (and nothing seems to happen in Play when encountering these techniques) :(
Have I missed something ?
by Surfwhammy on Mon Jul 12, 2021 5:24 am
I did several experiments over a few hours with no success . . . :(

THOUGHTS

I have a subscription for EW CloudComposer X, and this gets me the current versions of nearly everything EW provides, including the various orchestras (Gold, GoldX, Platinum, and so forth) . . .

When I try an load certain EWQL instruments, I get a series of error messages about required samples not being found . . .

I did what the EW error messages suggested but to no avail . . .

I also tried replacing the 2020 EWQL presets in NOTION with the Legacy EWQL presents, also to no avail . . .

I think this is a two-part problem:

(1) The NOTION EWQL presets require an older version of the EWQL orchestra

(2) The NOTION EWQL presets have not been updated to work with the current EW orchestras.

WORKAROUND

As a general rule, I do not use NOTION presets for anything; and I do this for a variety of reasons, primary of which is that I avoid articulations, dynamics, playing styles, and all that stuff, since my perspective is that it wastes time for no useful reason . . .

Instead, if I use VSTi virtual instrument versions and then select the specific articulation, dynamic, playing style, and so forth that I want to use . . .