Discuss Notion Music Composition Software here.
6 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hi all,

I'm new to presonus and I'm writing for a voice quartet with SATB. I'm got the out-of-range colours to show, but unfortunately these are default - as I'm composing for specific people, I'd like to modify the ranges.

Would this be possible? e.g. if my soprano person has a slightly lower range than the normal soprano then when I'm writing I'd like not to exceed that person's comfortable range. I thought it might involve making a custom instrument but I couldn't do it.

Thanks in advance!
by jamalbee on Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:22 pm
Hi,
Some years ago, there was a question about out of range notes not sounding. Surf.Whammy answered it with many details. His knowledge being beyond my understanding-but though I'm willing to help- I'll direct you to the discussion and will let you sort it all out...

viewtopic.php?f=167&t=3593
by Surfwhammy on Thu Aug 08, 2019 8:19 am
colinng wroteHi all,

I'm new to presonus and I'm writing for a voice quartet with SATB. I'm got the out-of-range colours to show, but unfortunately these are default - as I'm composing for specific people, I'd like to modify the ranges.

Would this be possible? e.g. if my soprano person has a slightly lower range than the normal soprano then when I'm writing I'd like not to exceed that person's comfortable range. I thought it might involve making a custom instrument but I couldn't do it.

Thanks in advance!

I think this is possible, but (a) I need to do a few experiments and (b) if it is possible, then it will involve doing something which is an "advanced activity" that involves "tweaking" NOTION application resources . . . :)

THOUGHTS

At the moment I am not in the sound isolation studio and am using the demo version of NOTION 6 (current version), which does not have the individual vocal "Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass (S.A.T.B.)" voices enabled . . .