Discuss Notion Music Composition Software here.
2 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hello, and apologies in advance if this subject has been discussed before. I searched before this post but could find no other references to it.

As a composer, I find it helpful to lay out a song in advance by its form before writing a single note. By form, I mean the number of measures in each section, rehearsal marks, repeats, DS / DC, endings, etc.

Do others use this approach as well? And, is there an easy way to do layout a song by only its form as described in Notion or Progression?

Please let me know your thoughts. If this ability does not already exist, then perhaps a wizard that does this may be a useful feature request.

Thanks in advance
~SC
by Surf.Whammy on Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:25 pm
scavanagh wroteHello, and apologies in advance if this subject has been discussed before. I searched before this post but could find no other references to it.

As a composer, I find it helpful to lay out a song in advance by its form before writing a single note. By form, I mean the number of measures in each section, rehearsal marks, repeats, DS / DC, endings, etc.

Do others use this approach as well? And, is there an easy way to do layout a song by only its form as described in Notion or Progression?

Please let me know your thoughts. If this ability does not already exist, then perhaps a wizard that does this may be a useful feature request.

Thanks in advance
~SC

You can do this, but it requires doing some copying and pasting if you want it to be relatively easy . . . :)

THOUGHTS

As you might know, I have three general strategies for composing songs:

(1) Based on a kernel of an idea which primarily is mathematical and geometrical or perhaps is keyed on a particular musical phrase or lyrical phrase . . .

(2) The Aliens From Outer Space "beam" me an idea for a song, which usually is musical (notes-only) but occasionally includes lyrics or a hint to lyrics . . .