Discuss Notion Music Composition Software here.
54 postsPage 1 of 3
1, 2, 3
In this project, I am going to provide a few insights into the various strategies for doing ReWire with NOTION 6 and Studio One Professional 3.5+ . . . :)

For reference, I am writing a book on digital music production (which is coming along nicely); but while never lacking in what at times is overwhelming self-esteem and occasionally considering myself to be the "Source of All Knowledge in the Known Universe", when I decided to include a chapter on ReWire, I had to pause for a while to determine the correct way to present the big picture . . .

I have been doing ReWire sessions since 2010 with Digital Performer (MOTU) as the ReWire host controller and NOTION and Reason as ReWire slaves; and for the most part this was focused on ReWire Audio, where the VSTi virtual instruments were hosted in NOTION and the AU and VST effects plug-ins were hosted in Digital Performer . . .

This strategy works nicely; but some of the VSTi virtual instruments are highly resource intensive, which overall maps to NOTION becoming overwhelmed by all the processing that has to be done in real-time on the fly . . .

The solution is to create songs in layers, where each layer is a NOTION subscore that has only a few VSTi virtual instruments and no VST effects plug-ins . . .

When I am creating songs this way, it's not unusual to have 25 to 50 NOTION subscores . . .

I start with what I call the "Basic Rhythm Section", which is a sketch of the song and has simple drumkit, bass, and rhythm guitar or piano staves, along with a staff for the simple melody, where the drumkit usually is a kick drum, snare drum, and hi-hats . . .

Initially, I focus on the structure of the verse and then later add a chorus, bridge, and interlude . . .