Page 1 of 6

Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 2:48 am
by famso
Help me please, i'm recording drums with my audiobox vsl1818, and at first i didn't have any problems with the interface because i recorded directly into logic pro X, but when i run the recording through the audiobox software instead of directly into logic pro, it randomly makes pops/clicks in the recordings.

I don't know what to do because my drums sound like 2 times better when i run it through the presonus software, but when i record it just goes popping everything

I repeat: I don't hear the noises when i'm monitoring the sound, it's just when i run it through the preosnus software to logic pro

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 9:40 am
by cristofe
It could be any number of things. Have you optimized your pc for audio production? Have you disabled wi-fi? Are you plugged into a USB2 or USB3 port? That being said we cannot help you without a bit more info......if you will post your system specs (see my sig), we will be better able to trouble shoot your problems. Without knowing what type of pc you're running, what DAW etc....we can't recommend a "simple fix"

If you have not already done so please register your audiobox and open a tech support ticket. They'll get you sorted.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:14 am
by sharonzaz
^logic pro = mac.

i have experienced more problems with clicks/pops etc on the mac than on pc.
check your audio/midi setup - applications - utilities - audio/midi.

ontop of the regular 1818 driver i found some other driver that i had to delete.
not sure where it came from and why.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:07 pm
by PreSonuSupt2
Is it possible your buffer settings are too low?

Are you running the latest version of the driver and firmware on the 1818? Is this on your i5 mac or the MacBook Pro or both?

Would you like me to set you up with a tech support ticket to have one of our guys try to assist you in getting this solved?

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:30 am
by sharonzaz
were you referring to me or to the OP?

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 5:31 pm
by jacobrownoly
I too get the exact problem, Cracking and pop on playback when using VSL :(

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:34 pm
by tinggaard
Hmmmm It Seems PreSonus Got a bIg problem. I Can see that We are a lot a People WHO bought 1818vsl and experiencing the same problems...
I bought It, my friend bought It and we have the same problem
"Cracks-pop's crackle :0| everything sounds incredible Well until I plug my guitar In and Press record.... Cracks. . .. . . I Can see that this problem started In 2012 I begin to belive It Can not be fix'ed or?

My system is:
Macbook Pro i7 Quad core
8GB ram
PreSonus Studio One v2 with 1818vsl

Friend's system is:
Mac mini i7 Quad core
16GB ram
PreSonus Studio One v2 with 1818vsl

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:05 am
by zenimickal
Check the Buffer in your DAW. ;)
>> http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1314

If you use not correct buffer size, you can have pops, clicking.

I've solved the problem when i changed this ;)

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:28 am
by PreSonuSupt2
Driver and firmware are the first place to look. Make sure those are the latest. There has been a recent update that addressed issues similar to what all of you are reporting.

After that, check the buffer settings in your computer. If those are too low then your computer may not be able to process the audio.
These are in the settings tab of VSL. You cannot change them on a Mac while they are in use so you'll have to close and open your DAW and test in between.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 8:16 pm
by BlackBoxRecordings
I am having it since the newer 1818 firmware update. I had to recently upgrade to OSX 10.9.5 and it forced me to get 1818 updated and have had nothing but rice crispies in my sound. It is pissing me off now and I see nothing on the horizon for the fix. This isn't a buffer issue either so I am about to dump this hunk of poop

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:35 pm
by cristofe
If you haven't done so already, I suggest you open a support ticket.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:29 am
by camilito
Same problem. Recording ruined. Buffers were set hella high in latest version of Logic X, recording straight into Logic. Listen:
test.mp3
(1010.74 KiB) Downloaded 2045 times

That is just one track, it happens intermittently like that on all the tracks.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:27 am
by atomgram
I have this going on too. Got a lot of help from the tech guys, but still having troubles. Bought a new usb card. Restarted the system. Ramped up buffers. Pop pop crackle. Really sad.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:18 pm
by mikaleerhart
Does anyone have any more info on this? I'm using Propellerhead Reason 6.5 with AudioBox USB and am getting a lot of pop/cracking noises. Only when recording, playback works fine. Using a phantom power Behringer B-2 Pro mic.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:57 am
by kevinwinburn
Any more info on this I just purchased the 1818vsl and have popping and cracking going on with high buffer settings?

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:10 am
by fabianhorn
I have had the same problem already twice.
I hat PT11.0.3 installed and the Audiobox 1818/44 + Driver 1.3 on OS 10.8.5

It had all cracks and pops in it randomly on the tracks / through the VSL Software.

I changed the driver back to 1.2 and the problems were gone.

After a while i installed a SSD System drive in my Macbook pro and had to reinstall all the software.

I even bought OS 10.8.5 for 20 Bugs, got the 1.2 driver from presonus and tried to get my hands on the PT 11.0.3 installer. But all they had was the 11.0.2 update.

What can i say. There was nothing i could do to prevent the clicks and pops.
I am now Running PT 11.3 and Presonus 1.3 on OS 10.8.5 and i have clicks and pops even on single track recordings on all the buffer sizes and also through the vsl software.

I´m running out of options here.
My whole system is based on Presonus.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:32 pm
by fabianhorn
Okay, some little news from my side, which fixed the problem once again.

Try out different VSL/Interface/DAW/OS patch versions.

Since my last post, i went back to the earliest Mountain Lion compatible VSL Software (1.2 i think), and upgraded PT to 11.3.1.
I don´t understand, which exact magic took place, but i can now again monitor and record in any way and on any buffer size, without cracks and pops.

This also means, that i will never, ever, ever, ever, patch anything on this Mac again.

greetings; hope this helps some of the users here.

Fab

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:08 am
by davemitchell
Seems as though one must completely remove the VSL software and drivers to solve the click/pops issue. Presonus? What gives?!

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:13 am
by mwright137
Well, I used to say PreSonus doesn't actively engage in the user forums, but things seem to be changing. Maybe you'll get lucky.

Re: Pops/clicks just when recording with audiobox software

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 1:32 pm
by rnaqvi
We are aware of this issue and how it affects some systems and are working to solve it. We hope to have a more advanced driver out that will allow for customization of the buffer modes to handle these types of situations. We actually have something in testing now and after it is fully vetted, it will be in the next release.

Kind Regards,
Rick
www.presonus.com