Page 1 of 1

Firepod Not Working?

Posted: Wed May 06, 2015 10:07 pm
by DangerDave
I have been using two Firepods on my Mac running Mavericks. This setup has been working well for me with the exception of the loss of a single channel (XLR Input #3). That is until recently when I went to my studio and noticed one of the Firepods was not powered up. I switched the power supplies and still dead with the other still working. I checked the internal fuse which is intact. I did have a problem with the power switch several years ago and they sent me a new switch. I checked the switch on this unit and it doesn't seem to be the problem. I am not sure what else to check, any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
DangerDave01

Re: Firepod DOA?

Posted: Thu May 07, 2015 10:50 am
by cristofe
Well, as you switched power supplies, you know that's not the problem. Have you opened it up and checked for blown capacitors?

Re: Firepod DOA?

Posted: Fri May 08, 2015 10:08 am
by DangerDave
I did open the unit to check the power switch. Could a bad cap not allow the unit to power up? The cap by the power switch looks to be bulging on the top so I guess my next step will be to totally expose the board and check all of them?
–DangerDave

Re: Firepod DOA?

Posted: Fri May 08, 2015 12:40 pm
by SirNickity
It could, if there's a supervisory circuit that provides a Power Good signal to the downstream load. A bad electrolytic cap often means the DC rail is going to have excess ripple and/or noise. If the cap failed shorted, it might be tripping protection circuity upstream. Or, the cap could be the symptom rather than the cause.

My unsolicited 2 cents: You've lost a channel, replaced a failed switch, and now have bad caps. That would shake my confidence in the reliability of that particular box. I think I would cut my losses and move on at this point, but the trade-off between the investment and the cost of something going wrong is a personal matter.

Re: Firepod DOA?

Posted: Thu May 14, 2015 5:50 pm
by DangerDave
Thanks SirNickity,

The unit that lost a channel is not the one that is dead. Presonus support will fix it for $85 but I was hoping I could replace a $5 part and be back in business...? Am I just chasing a dream or should I continue to trouble shoot this unit?

Thanks,
DangerDave

Re: Firepod DOA?

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 6:21 am
by Karyn
You need to add the cost of your time to the 5$ for the part (that's a bit much actually) so if you value your time at $20 per hour can you fix it in under 4 hours? (assuming everything goes to plan and the fix works first time...)

Re: Firepod Not Working?

Posted: Sat May 16, 2015 4:25 pm
by cristofe
Yeah, the part should be less than $5. And, quite frankly, you have nothing to lose by attempting the repair yourself. If you you don't have the chops, you're only out a few $.