10 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hi all,

I'm a long time Pro Tools user, with experience on several other DAWs (Cubase, Reaper, etc.). I'm interested in Studio One 2 for its potential ability to improve my workflow.

In Pro Tools, you can create several instrument tracks, inserting duplicate instances of the same plug-in on each one, and see all of them, each with its own fader in the Mix window.

Let me explain further. Say I have a VI that does not have multi outs, but want to use it to generate three different sounds on three different instrument tracks. Maybe I want to send the outputs to different buses on three different MIDI channels. The three VI tracks will show up separately in the Pro Tools Mixer, each with its own fader.

I tried to do this in Studio One Free, using the built in Presence instrument, and an SF2 drum kit I found online. Everything seemed to work ok in the Arrange window, but even though I named the tracks differently (Drums, Hi-hat, etc), the Mixer view only shows one channel called "Presence", with of course only one fader, with no way to adjust the output levels of the different tracks individually (unless i go into each MIDI track and edit the velocity data, which is a bit of a pita).

I've been wading through video tutorials for a couple of days, and have searched this forum, but so far haven"t found an answer. In fact, the information on ways to set up MIDI in Studio One is pretty scant.

It occurs to me that Free's limit of two available audio output channels might also be limiting the way the Mixer sees the Presence instrument, but is there no way to assign an instrument's MIDI output to a different MIDI channel, as one might do using a multi-out instrument?

Any insight anyone with more experience in Studio One can provide would be much appreciated. :)

Kind regards,

Wayne Rose
Whitby, ON
Canada

Mac Pro 2.8 GHz 8-core (2008) 32 GB
iPad 4 9.7", iPad Pro 3 12.9"
Pro Tools 12, Studio One 5.5.2, Reaper, Melodyne 5
Sibelius 7.5, Notion 6.8.2