Page 2 of 2

Re: How to debug a Studio One song that will not open.

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:16 am
by danielbebawi
Hey, first of all thank you very much for this post.
My song got stuck at "Loading: Song..." I discovered (thanks to you) that the problem is with the vst 3 service. So I desabled it and opened the song no problem and I removed all the plugins in the song.
The problem is when I rwctivate the service after I removed all the plugins it still freezes at "Loading: song..." with 0 plugins in the session.
I am using studio one 5

Re: How to debug a Studio One song that will not open.

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:13 am
by Bbd
Please open a support ticket for any ssues or you can start a new topic in the forum.
This topic was really meant for how to debug and not a specific issue.

Thanks.

Re: How to debug a Studio One song that will not open.

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 10:47 pm
by kurtackerman
I realize that this is an old thread. It's helpful. What's not helpful and is missing is the greater generational issue of S1 v3, 4 and now 5 sharing this issue and no one from Presonus sounding off about why it's happening? It's been documented on Mac and Windows and across multiple versions of S1. It's also documented that this issue is somewhat unique to S1. I myself have never witnessed an issue quite like this in older DAWs I've used in the past. How do the other DAWs get around it? Is the root cause truly a file system error? Corruption? If so, why is it not being addressed? Any good software company should know that foundational issues require extreme attention to provide stability and workflow continuity. There's nothing worse or more embarrassing than a technical issue that prevents momentum. It's simply unprofessional.
I have this issue now. What's my option if I find that it's a plugin? Hope that another developer recognizes it and eventually fixes it? Do I have to stop using the plugins I love, paid for and rely on? Geez.

Re: How to debug a Studio One song that will not open.

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 10:40 pm
by joeljossie
kurtackerman wroteI realize that this is an old thread. It's helpful. What's not helpful and is missing is the greater generational issue of S1 v3, 4 and now 5 sharing this issue and no one from Presonus sounding off about why it's happening? It's been documented on Mac and Windows and across multiple versions of S1. It's also documented that this issue is somewhat unique to S1. I myself have never witnessed an issue quite like this in older DAWs I've used in the past. How do the other DAWs get around it? Is the root cause truly a file system error? Corruption? If so, why is it not being addressed? Any good software company should know that foundational issues require extreme attention to provide stability and workflow continuity. There's nothing worse or more embarrassing than a technical issue that prevents momentum. It's simply unprofessional.
I have this issue now. What's my option if I find that it's a plugin? Hope that another developer recognizes it and eventually fixes it? Do I have to stop using the plugins I love, paid for and rely on? Geez.


Couldn't possibly agree more. This has been an issue for quite some time, but it seems to have gotten worse as of late. I have a song that is using no plugins unique to it (all plugins have been used in other songs at various times), yet it still becomes a "corrupted" song file almost every time I save it. What's also strange is that the behavior isn't consistent. Occasionally, I will be able to get the file to open. I've tried opening older autosaved versions with varying success. Once I have a version that opens correctly (without trying the troubleshooting methods discussed earlier in the thread), I save it as a new song file, then it eventually becomes corrupt again. Incredibly frustrating.

Even if it is an issue with a particular plugin, you'd think the developers would be able to make some sort of error handling, rather than allowing one bad plugin to take down the entire program with no crash logs or even an error message. Really disappointing that my favorite (yes, still my favorite) DAW still hasn't fixed an issue this large. It's been at least 6 years. Ugh.

Re: How to debug a Studio One song that will not open.

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:34 pm
by dongios
Thank you JPettit--very helpful

Re: How to debug a Studio One song that will not open.

Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2020 10:42 am
by rapasaotieno
All my songs are crashing after I did a computer rebuild to re-install Mac Catalina from Big Sure. I tried the above method which isolated the AU services however I was not able to isolate which plugin is causing songs to crash. In the end I turned all the AU plugin (in red) off, saved the song under a new name and re-enabled the AU services to then launch the new song and it crashes. Also I wonder what do you do with the faulty plugin once you isolate it. Do you uninstall and re-instal it? I read the whole thread but I could not find an answer.

Re: How to debug a Studio One song that will not open.

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2021 5:15 pm
by PreAl
rapasaotieno wroteAll my songs are crashing after I did a computer rebuild to re-install Mac Catalina from Big Sure. I tried the above method which isolated the AU services however I was not able to isolate which plugin is causing songs to crash. In the end I turned all the AU plugin (in red) off, saved the song under a new name and re-enabled the AU services to then launch the new song and it crashes. Also I wonder what do you do with the faulty plugin once you isolate it. Do you uninstall and re-instal it? I read the whole thread but I could not find an answer.


Just save a copy of the project and delete the plugins one by one until you've found it.
You could try reinstalling the plugin, you should also make sure you update the plugin to the latest version. Finally will need to contact the plugins support if there is still an issue, it could easily be that it isn't Big Sur compatible.