Page 1 of 6

Melodyne 4: Worldclass Tempo Mapping for Studio One!

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:47 pm
by jpettit
Well after five years of waiting I can finally say "tempo mapping for Studio One is here!"
Here is a quick demonstration of this amazing new capability made possible through Melodyne's new feature, ARA and Studio One's timeline.

Introduction to Tempo Mapping (Why tempo map?)
phpBB [video]

b]Here is a PDF Tempo mapping manual to get you started.[/b]

This is but a quick demonstration and more detailed free training that will be available soon.
Getting started with Tempo Mapping
phpBB [video]

1) Basic Studio One set up for tempo mapping
2) Getting around Melodyne 4 Tempo editor
3) How to accurately set the first beat and confirming time signature
4) Fine tuning the results of Melodyne's auto generated tempo map
5) Dealing with changes in time signature and complete gaps in tempo
6) Using Melodyne's free form tempo editing to draw difficult tempo line draggable to Studio One's time line.

Advance Class on Melodyne Tempo Mapping In Studio One
phpBB [video]

Re: Melodyne 4 Tempo Mapping for Studio One!

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:49 pm
by dgkenney
Funny you should post this. I just logged on to send you a message asking exactly these questions. Looks like it could be the answer to a number of live performance editing and mixing issues. I look forward to your analysis and hints

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:53 pm
by jpettit
It is decades ahead of anything I have ever use for finding free form tempos and their tempo refinement is smooth and well thought out.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:29 pm
by jpettit
Oh and yes you can define the hotkeys now.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:24 pm
by Bbd
This totally rocks!
:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:28 am
by dr4kan
Thank you for the video.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:33 am
by jpettit
dr4kan wroteThank you for the video.

Does it look like something useful to you?

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 4:56 am
by niles
Nice video, however I may be missing something here, because apart from the map view/editor in Melodyne I wonder what's new about this? We could already drag the Melodyne (Essential) tempo to the tempo track of Studio One.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:43 am
by David Mood
Great stuff, Jeff :thumbup:

I have two Melodyne licenses, one for Editor and one for Essential.
I logged in to my account, and could upgrade the Essential license to V4 for free, even though I registered it long before Nov. 2015.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:39 am
by jpettit
niles wroteNice video, however I may be missing something here, because apart from the map view/editor in Melodyne I wonder what's new about this? We could already drag the Melodyne (Essential) tempo to the tempo track of Studio One.

What you and others maybe missing is five years worth of development.
True the old one could create a map but it was transient based and was not really usable for mapping as it did not find the down beat . I tried many times thus the five years of my number one feature request for Presonus to develope the feature.
This is way beyond anything any company has done the in my experience.
Using new algorithms it not only finds the true beats (not just transients) the down beats, the meter and beat one.
The editor is also state of the art at dealing with inserting extra beats due to syncopation, retarding, complete drop outs and smoothing overall changes in tempo variations.
As someone one who did this weekly, I am very happy. :D

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:03 pm
by jpettit
Bub wroteThe biggest difference I'm seeing is they are calling it 'Intonation' correction now instead of 'pitch' correction. That and a few other things that should have been there from the beginning like key bindings etc. etc.. that I shouldn't have to pay $149 bucks for.
Bub, If you are not into: Tempo Mapping, or need hotkey binding, or want to use the new universal algorithm for things such as tape stop effects, or want the new kinds of polyphonic correction (One that actual works with distorted guitars), then yes there might be some heavy thinking about paying the upgrade price. :-) .... Seriously some will pass.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:48 pm
by niles
jpettit wroteUsing new algorithms it not only finds the true beats (not just transients) the down beats, the meter and beat one.

Ah, so it detects tempo based on (pitch) changes too, that's very interesting and easy.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:51 pm
by jeffjohnson
Thanks for the video jpettit. Looking forward to more Melodyne 4 videos from you as they are very helpful.

I just upgraded Editor to Studio for $125 at Audiodeluxe. Couldn't resist that deal.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:40 pm
by oldblood
Thanks for the great vid..!
After using it for half hour I really loved it. not used it for what it supposed to be for, but hey I think I can have some fun with this....Niccceeeeee!!!!!

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:47 pm
by matthewgorman
I just upgraded Editor to Studio for $125 at Audiodeluxe. Couldn't resist that deal.


Dammit. Where were you yesterday?

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 2:05 pm
by jpettit
niles wrote
jpettit wroteUsing new algorithms it not only finds the true beats (not just transients) the down beats, the meter and beat one.

Ah, so it detects tempo based on (pitch) changes too, that's very interesting and easy.
I don't know about easy :-). It is also not perfect as it takes AI to actual figure it out, but they are leading the pack and I am sure it will get smarter over time. ( just like polyphonic detection is way better than 5 years ago) :thumbup:

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:36 pm
by jpettit
I added Celemony's founder Peter Neub├Ącker describing this new state of art algorithm for finding tempo. in the original post. :thumbup:
viewtopic.php?p=83426#p83426

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:40 pm
by Bbd
Just downloaded and installed it.
My first test on a lead vocal went great.
It "feels" good. I only had time to pitch correct a verse, slide some blobs around and edit some formants.
I can't wait to test the auto tempo mapping.
For paying the little extra to get Studio vs. Editor was so worth it! It really is a no brainer.
Had to do it!

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2016 10:50 pm
by jpettit
Bbd wroteJust downloaded and installed it.
My first test on a lead vocal went great.
It "feels" good. I only had time to pitch correct a verse, slide some blobs around and edit some formants.
I can't wait to test the auto tempo mapping.
For paying the little extra to get Studio vs. Editor was so worth it! It really is a no brainer.
Had to do it!

PM me for a basic written procedure. I will not get to the the basic training video for a week or so.

Re: Melodyne 4 New Tempo Mapping for Studio One! (It's finally here!)

Posted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:29 am
by sambosun
True! But I still wouldnt mind an elegant non melodyne based tempo function when working with VI's. Like draging the grid etc.

jpettit wrote
niles wroteNice video, however I may be missing something here, because apart from the map view/editor in Melodyne I wonder what's new about this? We could already drag the Melodyne (Essential) tempo to the tempo track of Studio One.

What you and others maybe missing is five years worth of development.
True the old one could create a map but it was transient based and was not really usable for mapping as it did not find the down beat . I tried many times thus the five years of my number one feature request for Presonus to develope the feature.
This is way beyond anything any company has done the in my experience.
Using new algorithms it not only finds the true beats (not just transients) the down beats, the meter and beat one.
The editor is also state of the art at dealing with inserting extra beats due to syncopation, retarding, complete drop outs and smoothing overall changes in tempo variations.
As someone one who did this weekly, I am very happy. :D