8 posts
Page 1 of 1
Studio One newbie here.
I worked with Ableton since version 4. Trying to switch to S1 but it is really ,really hard. While certain things are obvious because Ableton and S1 work the same in that aspect. Switching the mindset to certain things is really hard, and I have already got lost a number of times.

I do not blame Presonus, IT is me of course, and I am trying to like this product but the barrier is quite big. IT is either not enough tutorials or perhaps the way it is design. Today I got stuck on a simple thing (or perhaps it is simply a bug).

I watched a few videos about the topic of multiple channels on a single track and I grasped it , but I do see tutorials or answers how to manipulate things (moving tracks around, moving channels around, removing them etc.
IT is all super confusing.

Here is an example:
Added 2 midi tracks with instruments. Each track got its own channel Input/Output. Later I removed the tracks, but I cannot find the option to remove those channels ? Why ?

Things like this happened to me few times already and this is quite discouraging. Perhaps it would be great to make a video tutorial for Ableton users. Not sure, but I feel like something is missing for my progress in learning S1. Perhaps it complexity. So far (since I paid for the license a month ago) I made around 10 sessions and the only thing I achieved was recording a single audio track. Nothing to be proud of.

Intel i9/24-core, RAM-64Gb, M.2-NVME-4TB, 4xHD-18Tb
Win10/64-Pro. Studio One + (v6.2+)
BEHRIUNGER-UMC-404, KompleteKontrol KBD Mk1/61key, Arturia-MINI-LAB mk2 (25key), Novation LAUNCH-CONTROL-XL, M-AUDIO - TrigerFinger, M-AUDIO Studio Monitors.
by taylorscott2 on Sat Dec 24, 2022 12:35 am
Right click the instrument track. Theres an option to delete track AND instrument (which deletes the channel too). You can assign this to a keyboard shortcut. I have the DEL key delete audio tracks, and CTRL+DEL delete instrument tracks (and channels).