2 posts
Page 1 of 1
I'm very new to Studio One 6 Pro and just about completely new to Ampire.

This morning, I dragged and dropped Ampire onto a new song track. I tried three different Ampire sounds in the "Experimental" section that I liked: Hyperfuzz, Science Fiction, and Trippy AC. I played my electric guitar just to hear the sounds and didn't record anything, exiting out of Studio One without saving any of my work.

This evening, I went back into Studio One to try recording some of those sounds. I went through what I think were the same steps, though I may well have done something different without realizing it. In any case, when I tried playing those three sounds again with my guitar, my results were:
- Hyperfuzz sounded exactly the same, at the same volume
- Sciencfiction sounded the same, but at one quarter the volume
- Tripp AC either wasn't working, or the volume was so low I couldn't hear anything
This morning, all three of these sounds were at the same volume.

I'm playing a *really* crappy electric guitar that I had lying around the house: 40 years old, someone put it together from assorted parts, one of the two pickups seems broken. But I don't see how to blame the guitar for this: clearly the signal path is OK for Hyperfuzz, so why the change in the others?

This probably has a super simple explanation because I have so little idea what I'm doing. I'd appreciate someone telling me what it is. Thanks!

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (21H2), Studio One 6.0.1 Pro | Universal Control v3.6.4.87069
PCs for Everyone (i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, no graphics card, 32 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD, 2 TB disk)
Presonus Studio 1810c | Nektar Impact LX61+
by Trucky on Sat Dec 03, 2022 8:53 am
I tested each of those presets with my guitar and also a pre-recorded guitar audio loop.
Even though the resulting sounds are very different the output levels were consistent.

I'd recommend first recording an example audio track of your guitar "without" Ampire.