8 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hi all,

I've been recording in Studio One for the past several years - I do about two or three songs per month, plus a few voiceovers for video. I currently have Artist, and am recording on a Dell Precision m4800 running Windows 10. All drivers for both the machine and my audio interface are current.

A few weeks ago, I was getting my music partner's version of Studio One set up (he's brand new to recording), and we recorded acoustic guitar, vocals, and harmonica. Meters looked and sounded fine internally. When I exported the acoustic stems later, I learned that they're averaging about -35 to -40 db.

Assuming I'd made some dumb mistake and didn't realize it, we re-recorded again today. but this time used my laptop and my interface. Almost the exact same result.

I don't understand it - I've recorded probably 80 songs in S1, and I've never had anything like this happen. And even if I did, I don't know how it could occur on two different laptops (although both are Dells) with two different interfaces and two different sets of settings.

As I was trying to figure it out today, I noted that there was an update back in April. To me, this is the only common factor here.

So I suppose my questions are:

- Has anyone else experienced this
- How can I verify whether or not this is the actual problem, and
- What can I do moving forward?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Joseph
by Tacman7 on Fri May 13, 2022 5:02 pm
Well...

When you record something you want to make sure your levels are up and you are recording with enough signal strength.

If you are then you should be able to work with it in S1 and export.

If it's ok inside S1 then the export should be ok. I try and get everything pretty loud inside S1 using compressors etc.(gain staging).

The things you have @ -30to -40 might be ok, you can probably raise up the level with gain staging. Did you try normalizing?

Is that the situation, levels are fine inside S1? Bad on export?