6 posts
Page 1 of 1
Hey, studio one users,

Just got maschine mk3 a couple weeks ago. I tried routing it in a few DAWs how I thought I’d want it routed. I was pleased to find out once I set up the routing in the plugin and saved it as the default plugin template, that studio one was a breeze and only took a few mins to set up.

Though as per usual how I thought I’d like it setup turns out to be almost perfect, but still lacking.

A little backstory that no one cares about. I’m a truck driver and despite the annoyance. I still try to make music when I’m on the road. So the key for me is. Less is better. So I thought the maschine will be great because it can kill two birds with one stone, an audio interface and a device for making music.

Here’s my problem and maybe someone knows of a solution. I’ve found a workaround, but maybe there is a better one.

I’d like to use the keyboard/chords feature on synths and samplers outside the maschine plugin.

I’m not sure if I can still use maschine in plugin mode, but switch to midi control surface and back without issues (haven’t tried it, but I’m assuming doing that, I’ll lose function of the keyboard/chords feature since I’m assuming that is tied to the plug-in since the maschine hardware is just a controller that’s just heavily tied to the software.

The only workaround that I could come up with in my small brain, is to use a pad I’m not using. Load up a synth on that pad, pick a sound that is kind of what I’m going for. Record that midi into studio one and then just drag the midi to a synth that I’m planning on using.

So if anybody has an idea if it’s possible or a better workaround and I’m all ears.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.
by ryanm1 on Tue Dec 07, 2021 11:34 am
There's a few videos showing how to do it. But keep in mind you have to turn low latency (green Z) monitoring in Studio One off, and just use a lower drop out protection if you need lower latency.