5 posts
Page 1 of 1
All

First - some context - I've been rocking an RME Multiface (PCI) for so many years that I cannot even remember (let's go with 2008). The Multiface (while still rock solid) is starting to show it's age in terms of PC connectivity (the old PCI card interface) and in parallel - I really need to unify my main hardware and clean out a bunch of old crap like a very old Mackie 1604VLZ that has been here just as long as the RME.

The Mackie serves no purpose now - except to act as a patch bay (several analog device connected sent back to the RME via the 1604VLZ sub mix out connections) and to drive the external monitors. I want the rack space back but at the same time really need to maintain the extra analog I/O and of course monitor cleanly...read on.

As a proud Presonus user (Studio One, Eris monitoring, an ATOM and recently the new Revelator mic ) - it's logical that a new Presonus interface solution would tie this all together nicely. I am currently eyeballing the 1824c - which gives me pretty much everything the RME does - but in a nice modern package.

Now - while thinking about ditching the Mackie (but somehow keeping the I/O) I must admit I had a huge "ah-ha" moment as finally (after all these years) dug in deep on ADAT connectivity.

I have never really taken the time to understand what it was about until now - which basically looks like I can (should?) keep the RME in play and while adding its 8 existing analog inputs into a potential new Presonus solution via ADAT.

The big questions I have is how to get these two interfaces to talk to one another in the most efficient manner. Assuming a new Presonus interface the way forward:

1. Is it as simple as just stringing an optical cable from the RME (ADAT Out) to the Presonus (ADAT IN), turning the RME on and the Presonus will suddenly "see" these 8 new ADAT inputs?