Page 1 of 5

Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:04 am
by AriAhrendt
Dear Studio One Users,

a new S1 update is online! Click check for updates within Studio One or download from your user account. Have fun and happy discussion!

Announcement thread.
viewtopic.php?f=151&t=42503

best
Ari

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:06 am
by gregghart
Thanks for fixing the score editor issues. That was a tricky one! Glad I contacted support on that one. I can confirm that the font I had the caused the crash no longer causes the crash. Thank you!

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:51 am
by snb1
Unfortunately the graphic hardware acceleration still doesn't work for me. My plugins still comes up with no gui. The up and down arrows still doesn't work inside the Reason Rack Plugin.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:55 am
by pawelhebda
Thank you!!! :)

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:36 pm
by PreAl
Excellent
I hope attention will now be turned on atom firmware bug fixes and minor enhancements.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 3:48 pm
by UntilTheBones
Audio Device Controls for the Quantum are showing up again in the console. TY! :thumbup:

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:18 pm
by briandeeley
Thank you! :D

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:27 am
by jonwright
I've just finished setting up a reasonably large disabled track template, and I am running into some issues with hanging on project load, seemingly related to Kontakt.

A fresh disabled template loads without any issues, as does a project without any Kontakt instances enabled.

When I load a project with just one track that uses Kontakt, it will hang on 'Loading:Workspace', for about two minutes.

It does eventually load. Is this happening to anyone else?

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:41 am
by robertgray3
jonwright wroteI've just finished setting up a reasonably large disabled track template, and I am running into some issues with hanging on project load, seemingly related to Kontakt.

A fresh disabled template loads without any issues, as does a project without any Kontakt instances enabled.

When I load a project with just one track that uses Kontakt, it will hang on 'Loading:Workspace', for about two minutes.

It does eventually load. Is this happening to anyone else?


I've noticed some inserts load slower than I recall happening before. Kontakt is one of them. Some Waves plugins are the others.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:46 am
by aqvtgkoi
I can no longer launch Studio One after installing the 5.1.1 update on my mac -- it just hangs at startup while displaying a checking for updates dialog... clicking cancel doesn't help either.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 11:00 am
by PreAl
For those who need their issues troubleshooted, can you please create your own thread - please. If a bug is validated by somebody else, you can always come back here.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:27 pm
by Blades
Glad to see an aggressive update schedule (it seems). Bummer that this round didn't fix the issue with a controller getting set to a starting value in a MIDI track as reported and reproduced during this development cycle. Maybe next time!

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:02 pm
by PreAl
Blades wroteGlad to see an aggressive update schedule (it seems). Bummer that this round didn't fix the issue with a controller getting set to a starting value in a MIDI track as reported and reproduced during this development cycle. Maybe next time!


Here is your issue reported Nov 1st, two weeks before release is just not enough time. When you says "reported" you have created a ticket and has this confirmed?


viewtopic.php?f=151&t=42279&p=248507#p248507

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:06 am
by jonwright
robertgray3 wrote
jonwright wroteI've just finished setting up a reasonably large disabled track template, and I am running into some issues with hanging on project load, seemingly related to Kontakt.

A fresh disabled template loads without any issues, as does a project without any Kontakt instances enabled.

When I load a project with just one track that uses Kontakt, it will hang on 'Loading:Workspace', for about two minutes.

It does eventually load. Is this happening to anyone else?


I've noticed some inserts load slower than I recall happening before. Kontakt is one of them. Some Waves plugins are the others.


Update to this, I found the cause. Cubase 11!

Removing the Spectral Layers VST from my plugins folder solved the issue, and Studio One loads as normal again.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:11 am
by PreAl
^ Next time please post in the cubase forums ;) (joking).

Seriously though - please create your own thread next time for troubleshooting.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 5:18 am
by gregghart
PreAl, just a question....what is this thread for then? It's a discussion thread, which is pretty general. I think it's perfectly fine to discuss things you like, or dislike, things that were fixed, or broken, etc. I agree that if it becomes a topic, then yes, you should create a thread, but mentions should be fine, shouldn't they?

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:56 am
by PreAl
gregghart wrotePreAl, just a question....what is this thread for then? It's a discussion thread, which is pretty general. I think it's perfectly fine to discuss things you like, or dislike, things that were fixed, or broken, etc. I agree that if it becomes a topic, then yes, you should create a thread, but mentions should be fine, shouldn't they?


Groundhog day again:
viewtopic.php?p=245050&sid=161acd281d3a3b95d1dfef081cdbe2db#p245050

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:04 am
by roland1
Attention all Earthlings: POST WHAT YOU WANT HERE!

PreAI, please shut up. You act as though you are an official spokesman for Presonus but come off more like an annoying middle manager type who wants to be in charge of others.

This thread, as has always been the case, is for throwing out the first bits of good and bad news about the new release. It has always kept first impressions in one place where people can decide immediately whether it looks worth updating or not. That's what makes it useful.

A good idea would be to mention issues here and then link to a thread that lets others discuss it in greater detail.

I'm not here to make friends but to speak my mind without concern for whose ego I have to spank. PreAI, your thread policing is annoying at times and you are NOT the voice of the people. I suggest you get into politics for that instead. ;)

PreAl wroteFor those who need their issues troubleshooted, can you please create your own thread - please. If a bug is validated by somebody else, you can always come back here.


gregghart wrotePreAl, just a question....what is this thread for then? It's a discussion thread, which is pretty general. I think it's perfectly fine to discuss things you like, or dislike, things that were fixed, or broken, etc. I agree that if it becomes a topic, then yes, you should create a thread, but mentions should be fine, shouldn't they?

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:17 am
by PreAl
roland1 wroteAttention all Earthlings: POST WHAT YOU WANT HERE!

PreAI, please shut up. You act as though you are an official spokesman for Presonus but come off more like an annoying middle manager type who wants to be in charge of others.

This thread, as has always been the case, is for throwing out the first bits of good and bad news about the new release. It has always kept first impressions in one place where people can decide immediately whether it looks worth updating or not. That's what makes it useful.

I'm not here to make friends but to speak my mind without concern for whose ego I have to spank. PreAI, your thread policing is annoying at times and you are NOT the voice of the people. I suggest you get into politics for that instead. ;)

PreAl wroteFor those who need their issues troubleshooted, can you please create your own thread - please. If a bug is validated by somebody else, you can always come back here.


gregghart wrotePreAl, just a question....what is this thread for then? It's a discussion thread, which is pretty general. I think it's perfectly fine to discuss things you like, or dislike, things that were fixed, or broken, etc. I agree that if it becomes a topic, then yes, you should create a thread, but mentions should be fine, shouldn't they?


Nope just stating facts which were endorsed by admins (did you actually read the link I gave you?). BTW I politely requested, I wrote "please" twice. If you consider that to be "policing" that's your problem not mine. So you get to police the police right?

BTW I don't make the rules and nor do you. Yet here you are making a personal attacks and trying to censor me by telling me to "shut up" and telling people post what they want here as though you are in charge. Well done you 👍.

I'm not going to hijack this thread further, the discussion about why people shouldn't troubleshoot here is covered by that link. I was asked a question and I gave an answer.

EDIT - I am responding to your original unedited post quoted above.

Re: Studio One 5.1.1 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:42 am
by gregghart
Thanks PreAl, I didn't see that other thread. However, I still see nothing wrong with mentioning a problem and then mentioned it was fixed in this thread. Actual troubleshooting should be done in another thread, totally agree. There are so many threads created here that sometimes the problem threads get buried one or two pages below and they get missed. So putting it in the general thread, which is pinned, by the way, ensures more people will likely see it, and then hopefully will go find the actual thread to state they have similar issues, or a way to fix it. Maybe in the future., the person posting the question and "link" to the problem thread to help guide people there? It's an idea right? Why police everyone that may be having trouble? Instead, as a community, we can all help each other out. We're all friends here, right? My guess is that either the devs or a QA person DOES in fact look at the general thread pinned. After all, one creates it, it stands to reason they check it out as well. Read below for further proof of this theory.

I used to run a very large forum for a New York Best Selling author and we had similar rules (obviously, no real troubleshooting going on with an author forum, but we had general threads like this one as well as specific threads for questions / comments on certain books). Nothing wrong with a general thread that says, "Hey, Anyone seeing this? If anyone replies, then a new thread can be started in which troubleshooting can ensue. You even rightly pointed it out to start a new thread once someone confirmed they had a similar issue.

Just like I started a new thread when asking in the 5.1 forum about the score editing. As soon as I confirmed I wasn't alone, I started a thread. Nobody seemed to mind. A Mod didn't have to step in and say I was wrong. Even someone from Presonus (not sure if it was a QA guy or a dev) posted in my thread asking for information. What is really cool is someone from the QA team even reached out to me and had me test before they announced the fix, so that was very cool. I was a happy customer. I feel like that since asked the question in the general thread, more people saw the issue because even someone from Presonus was aware of the thread, actually posted in my thread and even reached out to me to give me a fix before the patch was released. I confirmed that it fixed it. it got resolved in the following patch, and I was able to continue on my staff editing way.