Page 1 of 1

Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:27 am
by alanbranch
Try as I may I cannot get Studio One to see my Euphonix MC Mix & MC Control, I've got Makie Control enabled in the EUCON system preferences to Studio One App and set them up in Studio One as four external Make Control Devices using ports 1-4 but nothing happens.
I've tried various alternate setups but nothing works, searching here seems I'm not the only one, did anyone eventually get it working?
Appreciate any help getting this going.

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:02 pm
by alanbranch
An update after hours of trial and error today, I downloaded lots of past versions of EUControl, installing & uninstalling between each version then I saw a post that said to replace the MIDI driver in library/audio/midi Drivers with the driver from EUControl 3.6, I uninstalled everything and tried installing 3.6 bingo that worked straight away! You still have to drop the Studio One app into EUControl pref pane and select Mackie Control and it restarts the app.
I shall do some more testing and experiment with installing a newer EUControl as it I remember it solving a problem in Logic & Pro Tools but for now I just want to see how well it works in Studio One 5. So far it works fine.
One other tip if you have the same problem don't be fooled by the Euphonix MIDI properties page in OSX audio/MIDI window having "Device Online" unticked (I thought this was why it wasn't working) it's working fine and this window is still unticked..It's just weird Avid drivers.
Searching for this online is hard to find a solution so I hope this helps someone.

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:31 am
by ericma2
alanbranch wroteAn update after hours of trial and error today, I downloaded lots of past versions of EUControl, installing & uninstalling between each version then I saw a post that said to replace the MIDI driver in library/audio/midi Drivers with the driver from EUControl 3.6, I uninstalled everything and tried installing 3.6 bingo that worked straight away! You still have to drop the Studio One app into EUControl pref pane and select Mackie Control and it restarts the app.
I shall do some more testing and experiment with installing a newer EUControl as it I remember it solving a problem in Logic & Pro Tools but for now I just want to see how well it works in Studio One 5. So far it works fine.
One other tip if you have the same problem don't be fooled by the Euphonix MIDI properties page in OSX audio/MIDI window having "Device Online" unticked (I thought this was why it wasn't working) it's working fine and this window is still unticked..It's just weird Avid drivers.
Searching for this online is hard to find a solution so I hope this helps someone.


Hey I tried the same thing. I installed Eucontrol 3.6 and finally got the Artist Mix to work with Studio One 5 ... BUT only with one way communication. The Artist Mix can send commands to Studio One but no feedback from Studio One. I dropped Studio One app into Eucontrol. Selected Mackie Control. Selected ports 1-4. In Studio One, I selected Mackie control and tried all the ports (1-4, in and out).

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:37 am
by leonseaman
I presumed those devices worked direct with MCU/Mackie control mode and didn't run through the EuCon software when in that mode? I've never tried it though.

Shame Studio One doesn't support the EuCon protocol as it's levels above MCU, i've used Eucon with Cubase and it's brilliant.

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:09 pm
by ericma2
leonseaman wroteI presumed those devices worked direct with MCU/Mackie control mode and didn't run through the EuCon software when in that mode? I've never tried it though.

Shame Studio One doesn't support the EuCon protocol as it's levels above MCU, i've used Eucon with Cubase and it's brilliant.


Yeah artist mix works on Mackie control. I'm still using Pro Tools but Im finally digging into Studio One since v5 came out and I'm really liking it. Been wanting to jump ship from Pro Tools for a lonnnnnng time.

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:25 pm
by mannbarton
And Avid and Presonus have blamed each other for the lack of Eucon support for years. πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™‚οΈπŸ™„πŸ€¦πŸ½β€β™‚οΈ Monopoly...πŸ™πŸΎπŸ˜…

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:10 am
by Funkybot
Avid has been working with Stienberg to update their Eucon support so it'll work better with the S1 (the Avid controller, not abreviating Studio One) and publicly asked users of Cubase and other DAWs about Eucon bugs and missing features in their DAWs so they could get them resolved. I suspect they'd be more than happy for Studio One to support Avid hardware same as they want Cubase/Logic etc to do the same. I think Presonus just doesn't want to (Faderport) or just doesn't see the value in prioritizing Eucon at this time. There's certainly no monopoly. The DAW market is incredibly completive and so is the controller market. Remember: the Faderport uses a closed standard in Studio One, giving it higher resolution and falls back to MCU in other DAWs just like Eucon devices do. In fact, more DAWs support Eucon than natively support the Faderport series so you can call this a rare instance of Avid being the more open company.

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:27 am
by ericma2
Yeah Logic works great with Eucon. Not sure about Cubase cause I don't use it. Id like to mess around with a faderport but I want them to update the scribble strip. I think I'm gonna wait until there's a mkii on the faderport 8/16

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:46 am
by Funkybot
ericma2 wroteYeah Logic works great with Eucon. Not sure about Cubase cause I don't use it. Id like to mess around with a faderport but I want them to update the scribble strip. I think I'm gonna wait until there's a mkii on the faderport 8/16


Yeah, I wouldn't buy a FaderPort at the moment either. First, the lack of pan encoders for each channel is cheap. Having 8 rotary encoders, with a push, like an MCU device would offer so much value when it comes to controlling plugins. Plus, would bring it more in line with MCU. No idea who at Presonus thought it would be a good idea to eschew them, but that's an immediate non-starter for me.

Secondly, the integration in other DAWs is not terrific. I guess the Faderport deviates enough from MCU in the button layout and operation that using it in other DAWs leads to reduced or atypical functionality. Sure, it integrates tightly into Studio One...I use other DAWs too. I don't want to be married to one. An MCU device will work in any DAW, so if you're going to build a Control Surface, sticking closely to the MCU standard should be the starting point, and if you're going to build a better integration into your own DAW (like higher resolution faders/encoders or some DAW specific controls), then do that on top of MCU to ensure compatibility is maintained in other DAWs. Short version: your surface should be a fully functional MCU device in other DAWs, or it's also a non-starter.

A FaderPort MKII with 8 Rotary Push Encoders for each of the 8 channels along with a master volume fader and a kick bleep MCU integration when used outside of S1 would be a hell of a device. Add in nice OLEDs on the displays to rival the Artist Mix and NI keyboards for not too much more money and they'd really have a kick bleep controller IMO. Right now though, I'd be looking at the X-Touch Universal, Avid Artist Mix (if your other DAWs support EuCon and you don't need transport controls), or one of the ICON surfaces over the FaderPort series personally.

Note: if you only use Studio One, the FaderPort may be terrific, but it would still benefit from 8 Rotary Push Encoders at the minimum, and any Studio One+FaderPort user would be crazy not to want kick-ass OLED displays.

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:01 pm
by ericma2
Yeah I have an artist mix and is a pro tools user. I've been looking for an alternative for quite some time and none of the other DAWs makes sense to my brain. I finally gave Studio One 5 a chance and its work flow makes sense to me. I def need a controller for how I make music. But yeah it's a complete turn off not having rotary knobs for every channel and the scribble strip doesn't look too impressive. I am very excited, however, that presonus makes their own controller so there has to be a v2 of the faderport 8/16. I like Eucon also because I'll hop into a Logic every once in a while and the artist mix works well in it.

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2020 2:27 pm
by ericma2
The Artist Mix works now! I didn't see anything in the release note about Eucon but I updated S1 5 and turned on the Art Mix and boom! It works!

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:04 am
by colliderman
ericma2 wroteThe Artist Mix works now! I didn't see anything in the release note about Eucon but I updated S1 5 and turned on the Art Mix and boom! It works!


Wait, are you saying the Artist Mix works as a Eucon controller? Or you got it working in MCU mode? Do the scribble strips display volume and pan properly? I had to do a hacky workaround to make them useable in V4..

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:22 pm
by ericma2
colliderman wrote
ericma2 wroteThe Artist Mix works now! I didn't see anything in the release note about Eucon but I updated S1 5 and turned on the Art Mix and boom! It works!


Wait, are you saying the Artist Mix works as a Eucon controller? Or you got it working in MCU mode? Do the scribble strips display volume and pan properly? I had to do a hacky workaround to make them useable in V4..


No just Mackie Control. It wasn't working with v5 but 5.0.1 made it so it would work under the Mackie Control protocol. How did you get it display volume?

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:49 am
by colliderman
ericma2 wrote
No just Mackie Control. It wasn't working with v5 but 5.0.1 made it so it would work under the Mackie Control protocol. How did you get it display volume?


Ah ok gotcha. I just went in and modified some of the Mackie Control script to work a bit better with the artist controllers. To clarify, it's not showing the level meters on the controllers but now it shows the volume level when you adjust a fader as opposed to the screen just going blank, and also shows the pan when you turn the knob instead of showing the track volume where pan should've been.

Here's a link to the modified script if you want to try it for yourself. You'll have to replace these files each time you update studio one. Keep a copy of the original files handy just in case. https://github.com/colliderman/S1_MCU_Script_modified

Re: Studio One & Avid Artist/Euphonix Controllers?

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:39 am
by ericma2
Nice! Thank you! I'll check it out