17 posts
Page 1 of 1
I'm an amateur musician hoping to transition from Sonar/Cakewalk to Studio One 4 Professional. However, one thing holding me back is parting with the wealth of instruments I've accumulated for use with my Cakewalk DAW's.

I found Sonar and Cakewalk to be robust, stable, and more than adequate for my needs. But it feels like a large footprint, creating folders all over my hard drive. It also requires Command Center and BandLab Assistant to download all the necessary goods. Meanwhile, Studio One is faster, simpler, and cleaner -- possibly much more to my style.

So I would like to use my Cakewalk VST's with Studio One, as it doesn't seem to have as much variety as I hoped. I attempted this by dragging Sonar's VST folders (Sound Center, TTS-1, Studio Instruments Suite, Session Drummer) into Presonus' respective VST folder.

To my astonishment, all those plugins seemed to work fine...until I uninstalled Cakewalk. It seems those plugins have a dependency on their former location (which no longer exists). I'm frustrated and disappointed -- and skeptical of Studio One's claim to support third-party VST's.

Although I'm sure Studio One possibly offers all the instruments I need, I'd love to be able to use Cakewalk's VST plugins there also. Is this at all possible? In the meantime, I'm trying to sway myself to just dive into Studio One, enjoy it to the fullest, and leave the Cakewalk mess of software behind...

Any insight to this conundrum would be much appreciated! :)

Presonus Studio One 4 Professional (Windows 10)
Intel I7-6700K (Asus Maximus VIII GENE)
Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 SSD (1TB)
G.Skill DDR4-3000 RAM (16GB)
by Tacman7 on Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:04 am
You only have to point S1 to where the VST's are installed, no need to move them anywhere.

Settings locations

Forum Moderator.
Please add your specs to your SIGNATURE.
Search the STUDIO ONE 6 ONLINE MANUAL. Access your MY.PRESONUS account.