Page 1 of 1

Is the a way to increase the UI font sizes?

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:49 pm
by jamessimpson3
I'm running Studio One 4.x on an iMac Retina 5K and I really wish there was a way to boost the font size even a point or two. Some of the text is so small on such a high res monitor that it really leads to eye strain after a few hours of working in it.

Don't get me wrong - I LOVE the crisp hi-res UI and the overall UX of Studio One is absolutely brilliant. It's just the very, very small fonts all over that could stand to improve. There is a ton of room to boost the fonts a bit at this resolution, and it would make an already-excellent interface near perfect.

Any chance we can get configurable font sizes in the "Appearance" preferences in a future update?

Re: Is the a way to increase the UI font sizes?

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:59 pm
by snb1
Currently there is no way to increase the UI font size inside Studio One. Could we get configurable font sizes in the appearance in a future update? Possibly

Re: Is the a way to increase the UI font sizes?

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:03 pm
by ennbr
I ran into the same problem its a real nuisance when your 3 or 4 feet away from the display even though a 27" 5k Retina. For the short term I changed the overall screen size in System Preferences / Displays on the Mac. It would be nice to have a setting in Studio One to change overall font size in the future.

Re: Is the a way to increase the UI font sizes?

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:20 am
by jamessimpson3
This is a small but really important detail. It could improve usability significantly. The less squinting and straining, the longer one can produce and be creative.

FL Studio has an option to scale the entire UI, since it's completely vector-based. I'm not certain, but Studio One looks like it could also be vector based. Perhaps a UI scaler similar to FL Studio? Short of that, being able to increase font size would be a great improvement.

Re: Is the a way to increase the UI font sizes?

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:24 am
by AriAhrendt
You have to be sure your OS scaling is set to "standard". Which means 200%.
If you need it bigger you have two more options. Try that. :)

A lot GUI parts of Studio One are vector based (the very most to be earnest), so that you can use that DAW in any resolution you want. But also there are fix GUI elements that normally looks way better than vector graphics because of special renderings and other design decisions etc. .

Ari

Re: Is the a way to increase the UI font sizes?

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:56 am
by jamessimpson3
Hi Ari, thanks for the reply. If I'm understanding your suggestion correctly, I don't really want to have change my overall macOS settings only to modify the typography in a single application. I have everything else in macOS configured the way I like it. It'd be ideal to be able to control this at the application level.