Page 3 of 3

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:15 pm
by Vocalpoint
PreAl wroteReading this thread has put me off updating sadly.


And I was just about to pull the trigger on 4.1.2. Good thing I popped in here.

4.1.1 has been rock solid. Will stay put until Presonus gets a handle on this one.

VP

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:36 pm
by Mirek Mach
output.png

This was already in SO3, but in current release it is more prominent.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:18 pm
by darrenporter1
Mirek Mach wrote
output.png

This was already in SO3, but in current release it is more prominent.


That's not a bug. The numbers on the right correspond to the meters, not the fader. The number up above and the dashes to the left of the meter go with the fader.

That threw me off at first too but now that I understand they are not related, it's no longer and issue for me.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:05 am
by Mirek Mach
darrenporter1 wroteThat's not a bug. The numbers on the right correspond to the meters, not the fader...

Maybe it works as intended, but I don't see any logical reason why output faders aren't locked with their scales the same way as all other faders.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:24 am
by pawelhebda
Mirek Mach wrote
darrenporter1 wroteThat's not a bug. The numbers on the right correspond to the meters, not the fader...

Maybe it works as intended, but I don't see any logical reason why output faders aren't locked with their scales the same way as all other faders.


Output faders have diferent scales - like K12, K14, K20 so fader positions are not strictly related to numbers.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 3:42 am
by Mirek Mach
Thank you pawelhebda, it makes sense now. But when we are talking about it, I found another thing:

In SO 3.5.6 - if you cycle through different meterings then you can see changes at scales immediately.

In SO 4.1.2 - if you cycle through different meterings then you cannot see changes at scales until you doubleclick on it.

Is any explanation for that?

Image Image

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:24 am
by Skaperverket
PreAl wroteReading this thread has put me off updating sadly.


+1

Great to see bug fixes and new features, so thanks for these! Sad to see new bugs, though.

PreAl wroteI appreciate there is a regular cycle of updates every 3 months or so, I do quite like this schedule it works well.

However I do hope Presonus can do some quick-ish regression fixes on what has been identified in this thread.


A user seems to be having some 4.1.2 issues with bend markers as well, so I hope that will be looked into as well: viewtopic.php?f=151&t=33399

And this one about unexpected solo behavior in 4.1.2: viewtopic.php?f=151&t=33394

Personally, I am still on 3.5.6. There hasn't been one single version of the version 4 cycle that hasn't had bugs that were reported right after its release.

PreSonus seems to have stopped doing quick hot fixes, and keeps introducing new features with every tiny little maintenance update.

While new features are welcomed, this way of releasing versions has lead to two problems:

1: Time. It could take a month or more for us to get tiny little bug fixes (that, while small, are still import to workflow and confidence in the tools).

2: New bugs. Every new little update, down to the smallest ones, has introduced almost as many bugs as it has fixed. Leaving us with no single bug free version of the software.

This is why I haven't upgraded yet. S1 is my main tool, and I have to be able to trust it. It feels kind of cold to vote with one's wallet, but that's sort of what I'll end up doing. I'm staying on 3.5.6, and if things continue like this I'll probably skip the whole version 4 cycle and upgrade once version 5 is mature.

P.S.: When meeting people, it's obvious that more and more producers and engineers are becoming aware of S1 (and Quantum), and it seems that most are very positive and are just waiting for the right features before they cross over. That is really great to see. I hope PreSonus doesn't get caught up in a cycle of half-baked implementations of features based on FR votes and such, but finds inspiration from other DAWs, from software of other fields and from users that actually use these software products creatively, and that PreSonus uses this inspiration to further develop the vision for the product and what it could be, becoming even more intuitive, even more efficient, even more powerful, even more trustworthy and even more easy on the eyes. I'm sure it could be the most popular DAW of them all.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:09 am
by pawelhebda
Mirek Mach wroteThank you pawelhebda, it makes sense now. But when we are talking about it, I found another thing:

In SO 3.5.6 - if you cycle through different meterings then you can see changes at scales immediately.

In SO 4.1.2 - if you cycle through different meterings then you cannot see changes at scales until you doubleclick on it.

Is any explanation for that?

Image Image


It looks like an BUG to me.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:38 am
by niles
Mirek Mach wroteIn SO 4.1.2 - if you cycle through different meterings then you cannot see changes at scales until you doubleclick on it.

Is any explanation for that?
Thanks, I've reported it as a bug.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:24 am
by roland1
pawelhebda wrote
Mirek Mach wroteThank you pawelhebda, it makes sense now. But when we are talking about it, I found another thing: [...]


Definitely a bug, otherwise the manual would say "Choose a metering scale from the menu, then click on the meter readout to the right and that new scale will be activated." Nope, this has got "Thyridopteryx ephemeraeformis" written all over it. :D

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:40 am
by Steve Carter
" Nope, this has got "Thyridopteryx ephemeraeformis" written all over it.

Don't be daft, they went extinct 65 million years ago and in any case there's not enough room for all those letters to be legible on he fader..!!

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:12 am
by garyanderson5
Mirek Mach wroteThank you pawelhebda, it makes sense now. But when we are talking about it, I found another thing:

In SO 3.5.6 - if you cycle through different meterings then you can see changes at scales immediately.

In SO 4.1.2 - if you cycle through different meterings then you cannot see changes at scales until you doubleclick on it.

Is any explanation for that?

Image Image


Its been like this sinse version 4.0 for me so its not new in 4.1.2. It also resets 0 to the correct position if you stretch the mixer up and down in size if you click and drag on the top of the channel. I thought it was supposed to be like this in version 4 but i agree it was much better in 3.5.6. :o

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:39 am
by patricemazmanian
philangus wrote:thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown:

Well it's completely screwed some of my songs! :roll: Have any of you tried loading songs where audio bend had been used?

I have installed the latest version, 4.1.2 from the previous latest version 4.1.1 and it has completely corrupted some of the audio. As far as I have been able to work out, so far it seems to be audio tracks that were edited with audio bend. A lot of the tracks either have lots of sporadic digital distortion, or they have audio content missing! I desperately now need to back by version to the previous version and assess the damage. I just hope some of the historical auto-backups still work! I also noticed someone else has reported this issue in the question section.


Unfortunately, I confirm the bug!
Compare the "Rhodes" track between versions 4.1.1 and 4.1.2!
With 4.1.2 the timing is lost with the Rhodes !
Audio bend with tempo changes and UNUSABLE !
Nothing worse for a DAW than losing the timing ....
I hope that will be repaired quickly, while waiting, back to 4.1.1

Image

Image

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:06 pm
by lisarowe
Thank you, people at Presonus.
I appreciate that you are always working on this program and it keeps getting better.
Whether it works as expected or not, the new Versions feature is one I have been using already -- saving a copy of a particular state is the solution I was needing to overcome some other issues. I anticipate a dramatic improvement in workflow and file space!
How one uses any feature depends on mindset, maybe, or experience with using other softwares, right? (e.g. Microsoft Word for documents)

The new PDF of the manual is a significant improvement for finding information.
The information, however is kind of shallow or non existent.
I am particularly looking for detailed information about coordinating with Notion.

Today, I am frustrated by the browser and the sample library. The folders, the scrolling, the long list of abbreviations with no way to organize it in any other way. No way to just look at it all in a window on my screen. No 'search' function! I can't use a sound if I can't find it.

Edit to say: I searched here on the forums and found info to help me out. I was looking in the wrong place and didn't see the magnifier that is supposed to mean 'search'
: )
Lisa

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:15 pm
by hitwriter
Is there an official wish list thread? Can't find it?

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 1:46 am
by niles
hitwriter wroteIs there an official wish list thread? Can't find it?
A whole wish site... https://answers.presonus.com/questions/ ... e-requests

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:53 pm
by aaronrussell1
Hello all. Wondering if anyone else has experienced MIDI out issues after the latest updates.

I updated to the latest version the other day then shut down the computer. Today I can't get consistent MIDI out behavior from Studio One 4. Sometimes I'll hear a random note when I press stop then start again. Sometimes I'll get normal MIDI out functionality for about 30 seconds if I disconnect my Faderport Classic, but not always.

I've changed nothing else. I've restarted everything. I've checked all the cables. Never experienced this issue before. As I have an all hardware setup I'm currently dead in the water.

MIDI in from my MOTU 828ES works perfectly. Yet MIDI out on the same device is non-existent. Again, the only thing I've done is update Studio One.

Edit: Nevermind. Forgot I had installed VCV rack. It appears to have installed some kind of MIDI helper that basically broke Studio One's MIDI functionality. VCV rack helper uninstalled. System reboot. All works perfectly now.

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 6:14 pm
by Black_Haus
Just updated from 4.1.1.

I noticed that any audio tracks I had used "Audio Bend" on and hadn't bounced down got a little messed up. I re-installed 4.1.1 bounced those tracks and all seems fine now. I'm guessing there where some changes to how Audio Bend quantizes in 4.1.2 ?

Re: Studio One 4.1.2 official discussion thread

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:04 am
by jazzundso
Black_Haus wroteJust updated from 4.1.1.

I noticed that any audio tracks I had used "Audio Bend" on and hadn't bounced down got a little messed up. I re-installed 4.1.1 bounced those tracks and all seems fine now. I'm guessing there where some changes to how Audio Bend quarantines in 4.1.2 ?

Yes. As you can see in the postings before, there are more users having the same problem.