Page 2 of 2

Re: SOLVED - V4 upgrader: all my 464 plugins failed the scan process!!

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:05 am
by michaelhoyt
I had this exact same problem. I thought WAVES caused it because it happened after i downloaded a new waves program. Waves did tell me that I have many duplicates, AU, VST2 and VST3, but that was not what fixed it. I had turned on McAfee Firewall and afterwards all my project devices stopped loading.

Re: SOLVED - V4 upgrader: all my 464 plugins failed the scan process!!

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 5:20 pm
by georgegoede
I had this exact same problem. Almost at the point to call PreSonus Support.

Then I saw this post!

I also have McAfee EndPoint Security, and had already disabled the Threat Prevention. Didn't think about the firewall portion.

As soon as I disable the firewall, all my plug-ins could be scanned by Studio One.

I have yet to analyze the exact issue and/or white-list the executable(s) responsible for the loading of the plug-ins, but for now, I'm a happy camper!

Re: SOLVED - V4 upgrader: all my 464 plugins failed the scan process!!

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:33 pm
by PreAl
Whatever you do re-enable the firewall afterwards.
People still use McAfee? Oh well...

Re: SOLVED - V4 upgrader: all my 464 plugins failed the scan process!!

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:58 am
by Tuoni64
Code: Select all
People still use McAfee? Oh well...


It still comes pre-installed (shovel-ware) on some OEM PCs. Notably DELL.

I just removed it all from my wife's new Dell laptop and it wasn't at all easy to get rid of all vestiges of it, this is despite me being a software engineer for over 30 years.

For those who are wondering, generally there are lighter and less intrusive solutions freely available out there which do not require subscriptions or couple themselves so tightly into your operating system.

Cheers,
Jason.