Page 2 of 3

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:36 pm
by Trucky
Thanks for updating your signature with your system specs. It helps us get to a resolution sooner.

For Studio One 3 users, here's the Windows 10 directory path for the files that need to be replaced:
Image

Just remove the files in the nanoKONTROL 2 directory and replace with the files contained in the zip file in my previous (see link below) post:
viewtopic.php?p=153216#p153216


Hope this helps.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:54 pm
by georgegidzinski
Perfect. When I plug in the NK2 for the first time using the button presses for Mackie Mode is that with or without S1/3 open?

Thanks,

George

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:23 pm
by Trucky
Either way should work. By design, the nanoKONTROL2 has multiple modes that can be selected based on what buttons are pressed when you plug it in to a computer. It remembers the mode you choose even after it’s unplugged.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:11 pm
by georgegidzinski
Thank you for all your help. BTW, S1/3 would not recognize the NK2 unless I plugged it in and then started S1/3.

George

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:32 pm
by Trucky
So is everything working for you now?

Yes, you’ll want to have it plugged in before you start Studio One because it checks for external devices, plugins, etc. during startup. My previous response regarding whether Studio One needed to be open or not was related to setting “Mackie Control” mode for the first time.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:27 pm
by georgegidzinski
Everything is good for now, on to the keyboard controller.

Thanks again,

George

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:14 pm
by Trucky
Super. It's nice when it all works!

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2 Not working in CC mode after update

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 11:32 am
by colin carroll
I have a love hate relationship with the Nano Kontrol, love it when it works and hate it when it does not.
I have used Trucky's solution to solve the problem of not sending CC data in the past.
The NK2 will not tansmit the CC data for the scene I have loaded in the Korg editor. Therefore I have no volume sustain expression etc.
After last night's Windows 10 update the NK2 did not connect when I opened Studio One 4, reconnected and still no joy The only thing that does work are the rotary pan controls (which I believe is the opposite of what use to happen.)

It works perfectly in the Mackie mode however Ido not need that function.

I have installed the xml files that you higlighted in your 9/2/2018 post and no change.
Everything stopped after the latest Win10 update.
Any ideas on what I can do?
Cheers.
Colin.

I am using the following:

Windows 10
Studio One 4 professional (latest build)
Intel i7 4.20Ghz
Ram 32Gb
ATOM surface control
NanoKontrol2

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 11:38 am
by Trucky
Everything is still working for me (Mackie Control Mode) with the nanoKONTROL2.
I'm running Windows 10 Version 1809 (OS Build 17763.253)

I'm not sure what mode you're running in or modifications you've made to what I provided previously but you may need to check that.

What version/build of Windows 10 are you running?

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:28 pm
by colin carroll
Mackie Control is not a problem for me either I need it to transmit CC data (which it was doing last night before the the latest features update. I am running Win10 Home Edition Version 1809.
I am running in CC mode and I have not done any modifications to your xml. Your xml was working perfectly inCC mode before last night's update.

Cheers.

Colin.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:54 pm
by Trucky
What build of Windows 10 1809?

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:27 pm
by colin carroll
17763.253

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:48 pm
by Trucky
I just enabled CC mode (SET CYCLE while plugging in USB cable] and confirmed with MIDI-OX that CC data is working correctly.

Do you have any firewall(s) enabled? If so, try disabling it temporarily to see if it's blocking CC data for the nanoKONTROL2.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:23 pm
by colin carroll
Tried that, nothing apart from transmitting panning on the rotary pots.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 3:03 pm
by colin carroll
Korg (3).png


This a screenshot of my Korg Editor.
The CC data for the sliders is being shown in the Midi Monitor and is showing the correct CC data ie CC 1 CC11 etc. But they are not controlling anything in my VIs the only thing that is happening is panning in the audio faders in the mixing desk.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:39 pm
by colin carroll
Screenshot (2).png


A picture of the Midi Monitor showing the CC data from the NK2 but it wont transmit to my VSTs such as Kontakt.

I have spent 10 hours on this.

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:58 pm
by Trucky
colin carroll wroteAfter last night's Windows 10 update the NK2 did not connect when I opened Studio One 4

Try rolling back the Windows update that caused this and let me know the results

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:27 pm
by colin carroll
I did a roll back no joy. I am beginning to think could it be the latest S1 V4.1.2 update of Jan 15th?

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:52 pm
by Trucky
colin carroll wroteI did a roll back no joy. I am beginning to think could it be the latest S1 V4.1.2 update of Jan 15th?


Yes, please note that Studio One updates often will replace the device files and you may need to reinstall them.

Do you remember how you installed the nanoKONTROL2 files? The one I posted is designed to use the nanoKONTROL2 as a control surface (Faders 1-8 with Bank support, Pans, Solo, Mute, Record, Set Markers, Transport, Loop On/Off) for Studio One 3 or 4.

I'm wondering if you were using a modified version of the one I posted that usingdanielejchan uploaded? His updates included the following:

- The eight channel is connected to the master out.
- Knobs are not binded to the pan by default.
- Slightly renamed Marker Left/Right and Track Left/Right channels.

Check out his post here:
viewtopic.php?p=175026#p175026

Re: KORG nanoKONTROL2

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:11 am
by colin carroll
I cant remember to be honest.
I have raised a ticket with presonus and I will wait for their reply.
Thank you for your sterling help.

Cheers.

Colin.