image description

Audiobox 1818vsl + Reaper + Macbook Pro = problems
  Forum Index » Digital Audio Recording 
Author
Prenoob
[Avatar]

Hey guys,

Please forgive the following noob post. I'm brand new to digital recording, although I've recorded on cassette machines for years. I've searched here and on the Reaper forums for similar issues, but I'm either not finding the answer to my particular question, or I'm just too much of a noob to know it when I see it!

I just picked up an Audiobox 1818vsl, Reaper and a Macbook Pro (OSX 10.8.2, 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7, 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3, SSD), and I'm having the popping and clicking noises that I'm guessing are associated with buffer size and/or latency, based on what I've read. A ore accurate description of the noises I'm hearing is an occasional crackle that sounds almost like static - it's not very loud, but it's clearly audible. It occurs at the same place each time I play back the recording.

I fiddled around with some of the buffer settings, but I honestly have no idea what I'm doing, and it doesn't seem to have an effect on the noise regardless of the settings.

Then I decided to load up Studio One 2 and do a test recording there just to see what would happen: no issues! Crystal clear recording! So I have to think something is going on between the Audiobox and Reaper. How do I make them play nicely together?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Monolithent
Supreme Baconator
[Avatar]

Tr some different versions of Reaper and see if any of them help. Other than that I really have no idea.
http://support.presonus.com

Tallest guy in the Mod Squad with all his hair still on his head.

No I'm not a freaking pilot!! The Air Force won't let me have a suit with a zipper...or sometimes shoestrings.

My advice and suggestions should never be considered advice or suggestions. These are mostly insane ramblings of a poor aircraft mechanic who can, strangely enough, still hear.