image description

Help! My Mixdown sounds so badly!
  Forum Index » Digital Audio Recording 
Author
Prenoob

Hey people.. I know that this problem has been on this forum many times, but I have a huge problem again! I'm a complete noob in audio recording. I have Presonus Studio One 2 Artist, and I'm using a Presonus USB Audiobox with Presonus M7 microphone (Presonus 1box pack), recording on PC, Windows 7 64bit. I'm having a very annoying problem! When I record my vocal and insert my instrumental beat to Studio One it sounds great, just like I would like to have it when I create a mixdown, but when I create it it just goes crap! My effects can be barely heard, volume level is going down, my vocal loses the compression which I've put in the Studio One and it like.. blends into the instrumental beat and it is muffled. It should be over the instrumental beat. I've tried to change the volume level down, so there would be no clipping, but still nothing changes! I've tried to mix it as a WAV and FLAC file's with different resolutions and samplerates, but still nothing..

I have no idea of what to do! Please help me.. or there might be some tutorials or something to helps newbie's like me. I will be much appreciated. (If you can please answer in 'easy english' please, because I might not understand fully the music terms). Thanks.
Julia B
Presonoid
[Avatar]

What are you using for monitors? Get a decent pair if you haven't already. KRK Rokit 8s are decent for around $500. Add in your balanced cables to connect to them and you're good.

Learning how to record and mix takes time and IMO is a money pit. I'd recommend a series of books from Hal Leonard Recording Method, available on Amazon.com, and it's not on their Cyber Monday sale. I'd recommend books 2 and 6. That got me started.

I'd select a few reference recordings in various genres. Be careful of remasters -- they're usually just made hotter than the originals and have less dynamic range.